You are not logged in. Login

Tewksbury Award, Dennis L.

The SEI Board of Governors selects the recipient of the Tewksbury award each year in recognition of outstanding service to the Structural Engineering Institute. Nominations are due to SEI by November 1 of each year.


The Award, which may be given annually, shall be known as the Dennis L. Tewksbury Award for Outstanding Service to the Structural Engineering Institute of ASCE.


I. The Award shall recognize an individual member of the Structural Engineering Institute of the American Society of Civil Engineers and of ASCE who has advanced the interests of SEI through innovative or visionary leadership; who has promoted the growth and visibility of SEI; who has established working relationships between SEI and other structural engineering organizations; or who has otherwise rendered valuable service to the structural engineering profession.

II. Not more than one award is made each year.

III. Nominations may be submitted by anyone.

IV. Nominees not selected in a given year will be held over for consideration through the next selection cycle. At the end of the second cycle, nominees not chosen will no longer be eligible for consideration except that nominators who wish for their candidate to be considered for another two-cycle period must submit a new nomination package.

V. The SEI Nominations Committee may recommend up to two nominees for action by the SEI Board of Governors. Members of the SEI Nominations Committee shall not be eligible for the award in the year(s) in which they serve on the Nominating Committee.

VI. A majority vote by the Board of Governors of SEI shall be required to confer the Award.

Award Recipients

Awards have been made as follows:

2000   Dennis L. Tewksbury
2001   Anatol Longinow
2002   Jeremy Isenberg
2003   Barry Goodno
2004   John Tawresey
2005   Rawn Nelson
2006   James A. Rossberg
2007   Neil Hawkins
2008   David Darwin
2009   Max Porter
2010   Tom Williamson
2011    James R. Harris
2012   Craig Barnes
2013   Roberto Leon
2014    Sam Rihani

Nomination Deadline

Submit a nomination online by November 1.