You are not logged in. Login

Geo-Institute Hero Award


Hero Award 

2011 Hero Dr. Reed Freeman - Photograph by Mark Skalny


The Hero Award was introduced in 2000 as part of the Geo-Institute's annual conference and is an opportunity for the members of the Organizing Committee to recognize and honor individuals who have provided significant contributions to the Geo-Institute, the geo-profession, or global welfare.  Often, awardees have had a profound effect on the discipline, but may not yet have been honored via some of the more conventional award programs. 

Each conference organizing committee determines its own criteria for the award, so there is no official nomination process.  However, if you would like to make a suggestion for the Award Committee to consider, please send a message to the G-I Board and Programs Specialist, Helen Cook, at

Previous Winners:
2011 Reed Freeman
2010 J. Michael Duncan
2009 Clyde N. Baker, Jr.
2008 David Daniel and John S. Schmertmann
2007 Jorg Osterberg
2006 William F. Brumund, Milton E. Harr, T. William Lambe, Robert V. Whitman?
2005 J.P. Giroud, Lymon Reese, Bob Koerner
2004 Michael W. O’Neill
2002 John A. Focht, Jr.
2000 Ralph Peck

Back to Geo-Institute Awards
ASCE Awards