You are not logged in. Login

Mindlin Medal Rules


Raymond D. Mindlin Medal

This medal is named for Raymond D. Mindlin, Ph.D., M.ASCE who was a Professor at Columbia University and who is best known for pioneering contributions to applied mechanics. The medal was established by action of the Society in February 4, 2008.

I. The medal may be awarded annually to an individual in recognition of outstanding research contributions to applied solid mechanics.

II. Membership in the Society is not a consideration for this medal.

III. The Awards Committee of the Engineering Mechanics Institute shall recommend for EMI Board approval the name of the recommended winner. With EMI Board approval, the recommendation is presented to the Executive Committee for final action.

IV. The medal will be presented in the the Engineering Mechancis Institute Annual Conference, the Society’s Annual Conference, or a mechanics conference co-sponsored by ASCE.

VI. No one shall receive the medal more than once.

VII. The award items are a certificate and medal.

VIII. The year of first award of the medal shall be 2009.

To nominate, submit the following:
• A cover letter, signed by the nominator
• An Official Award Nomination form
• The nominee’s CV or biographical information
• Two or three letters of recommendation

Electronic submissions are encouraged to by November 1. Paper submissions are also accepted, in which case one copy of the complete nomination package should be received by the Honors and Awards Program at the ASCE headquarters: 1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Reston, VA 20191-4400.