You are not logged in. Login

Pankow Award for Innovation Rules


Charles Pankow Award for Innovation

The Charles Pankow Award for Innovation was established by the Civil Engineering Research Foundation (CERF) in 1996. Named for industry visionary Charles J. Pankow, the award recognizes the contributions of organizations working collaboratively to advance the design and construction industry by introducing innovation into practice. It was instituted as a Society award December 17, 2008.

I. One award may be presented annually to recognize an outstanding, collaborative emerging innovation in design, materials, or construction-related research and development. Innovations must be new to the industry. Not more than one award may be given in any one year.

II. Nominations must meet the following criteria:

  • a. Innovative Technologies – must demonstrate innovative design, materials, or construction-related research transferred into practice.
  • b. Collaborative Research and Implementation – must demonstrate that collaboration was involved during any part of the cycle from development to application.
  • c. Impact on Construction Industry Performance – must demonstrate innovative approaches that have a positive impact on society by striving to achieve one or more National Construction Technology Goals.

III. The award is not restricted to members of the Society. Current ASCE staff are not eligible for nomination. No innovation may receive the award more than once.

IV. The award committee shall be composed of five members, including representatives from the two previous award winning innovations, one representative appointed by the Charles Pankow Foundation, and two representatives appointed by the ASCE Industry Leaders Council. Members shall serve staggered two-year terms. The committee shall be chaired by the Charles Pankow Foundation representative. The Editor-in-Chief of Civil Engineering magazine shall serve as the non-voting Secretary.

V. The committee shall submit its recommendation to the Executive Committee of the ASCE Board of Direction for approval.

VI. The submission deadline is June 1.

VII. Nominees not selected in a given year will be held over for consideration through the next cycle. At the end of the second cycle, nominees not selected will no longer be eligible for consideration, except in the instance where nominations are resubmitted, to be considered for another two cycle period.

VIII. The award shall consist of a crystal trophy.

Entry Format

All entries should include the following:

Electronic submissions are encouraged. Paper submissions will also be accepted, in which case one copy of the complete nomination package should be received by the Honors and Awards Program at ASCE Headquarters. 1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Reston, VA 20191-4400.