You are not logged in. Login

Rickey Medal Rules



Rickey Medal

This prize was established in 1947 by Mrs. Lucy M. Rickey in honor of her husband James W. Rickey, M.ASCE, a leader in hydroelectric engineering progress.

I.    The medal may be given annually to a Society member for achievement in the general field of hydroelectric engineering, including any of its branches. The contribution may have been made through outstanding performance or specific noteworthy actions that have served the field of hydroelectric engineering and may include a career of published papers.

II.    Not more than one award of the prize is made each year unless the achievement upon which the award is based is considered to be the joint contribution of more than one person. No one shall receive the honor more than once.

III.    Responsibility for recommending the winner, or winners, of the Rickey Medal is vested in the then current Executive Committee of the Energy Division, whose choice is subject to ratification by the Executive Committee of the ASCE Board of Direction.

IV.    The award comprises a gold-plated medal and a cash prize determined annually by and subject to the approval of the Executive Committee of the ASCE Board of Direction based on the income from the award endowment. If the award is presented for a joint effort, the lead recipient shall receive the medal and cash prize. All other recipients shall receive only a certificate.

To nominate, submit the following:

Electronic submissions are encouraged to by November 1. Paper submissions are also accepted, in which case one copy of the complete nomination package should be received by the Honors and Awards Program at the ASCE headquarters: 1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Reston, VA 20191-4400.

 Click here for a list of past award recipients