You are not logged in. Login

Stevens Award Rules


J. C. Stevens Award

This prize was established and endowed in 1943 by John C. Stevens, Past President, ASCE.

I.    The prize is designated the J.C. Stevens Award.

II.    It may be given to the best discussion of a paper, the discussion having been published by the Society in a journal overseen by EWRI during the twelve-month period ending with June of the year preceding the year of award.

III.    The paper and its discussion must be in the field of hydraulics (including fluid mechanics and hydrology).

IV.    Papers written jointly by ASCE or EWRI-only members and non-members are eligible, provided at least one of the authors is either an ASCE or EWRI-only member. No one is to receive the prize or any portion thereof more than once.

V.    In any year when the excellence of more than one discussion on a paper justifies it, the prize committee designates a “second order of merit.’ A discussion on a paper so recognized is considered eligible to compete for the award the next year.

VI.    The Hydraulics and Waterways Council Awards Committee shall recommend a winner to the EWRI Awards Committee, which shall seek approval from the Governing Board of the Environmental and Water Resources Institute. If approved by the Governing Board of the Environmental and Water Resources Institute, the recommendation shall be presented to the Executive Committee of the ASCE Board of Direction for final approval.

VII.    Normally the prize consists of a certificate and books published by ASCE, costing not more than $100, however the Governing Board of the Environmental and Water Resources Institute may authorize that limit be exceeded if the income from the endowment is sufficient to justify it.

VIII.    The lead author shall receive the certificate and books, which they may select. All other authors shall receive only a certificate.

To nominate a paper, submit the following:

Electronic submissions are encouraged to by October 1. Paper submissions are also accepted, in which case one copy of the complete nomination package should be received by the Honors and Awards Program at the ASCE headquarters: 1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Reston, VA 20191-4400.