You are not logged in. Login

Surveying and Mapping Award Rules


Surveying and Mapping Award

This award was established in October 1969 following the solicitation of funds from individual engineers and engineering firms.

I.    The award is known as the Surveying and Mapping Award.

II.    The award is made annually to the individual who has made a definite contribution during the year to the advancement of surveying and mapping either in teaching, writing, research, planning, design, construction or management, these contributions being made in the form of papers or other written presentations, or in some instances through notable performance, long years of service, or specific actions which have served to advance surveying and mapping.

III.    Membership in the Society is not a requirement for consideration.

IV.    Not more than one award is made each year unless the achievement upon which the award is based is considered to be the contribution of more than one person, such as joint authorship of a paper.

V.    The Executive Committee of the Geomatics Division shall make a recommendation to the Executive Committee of the ASCE Board of Direction for selection of the winner of the Award. This recommendation shall be made on or before February 15 of each year. The Executive Committee may solicit nominations from its technical committees or from individual members of the Society for the Award.

VI.    The award shall consist of a plaque. If the award is presented for a joint effort, the lead recipient shall receive the plaque. All other recipients shall receive only a certificate. 

To nominate, submit the following

  • A cover letter, signed by the nominator
  • An Official Award Nomination form  
  • The nominee's CV or biographical information
  • Two or three letters of recommendation

Electronic submissions are encouraged to by November 1. Paper submissions are also accepted, in which case one copy of the complete nomination package should be received by the Honors and Awards Program at the ASCE headquarters: 1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Reston, VA 20191-4400.

Click here for a list of past award recipients