You are not logged in. Login

Terzaghi Award Rules


Karl Terzaghi Award

This award was established by the Soil Mechanics and Foundations Division (now the Geo-Institute) of the Society by the solicitation of gifts from the many friends and admirers of Karl Terzaghi, Hon.M.ASCE. It was instituted by the Board of Direction on October 10, 1960.

I. The Karl Terzaghi Award will be given to an author of outstanding contributions to knowledge in the fields of soil mechanics, subsurface and earthwork engineering, and subsurface and earthwork construction. Contributions which have been published by the American Society of Civil Engineers shall be cited as the principal basis for the award, however, in exceptional circumstances, and not more than once every eight years, contributions published elsewhere may be cited as a basis for the Award.

II. The Award will be given without restrictions as to Society membership or nationality.

III. Award recipients will be nominated for Board of Direction approval by the Geo-Institute Board of Governors.

IV. The award will consist of a plaque and a cash prize determined annually by and subject to the approval of the Executive Committee of the ASCE Board of Direction based on the income from the award endowment.

To nominate a paper, submit the following:

  • A cover letter, signed by the nominator
  • An Official Award Nomination form  
  • The nominee's CV or biographical information
  • Two or three letters of recommendation

Electronic submissions are encouraged to by June 1. Paper submissions are also accepted, in which case one copy of the complete nomination package should be received by the Honors and Awards Program at the ASCE headquarters: 1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Reston, VA 20191-4400.