You are not logged in. Login

Tipton Award Rules



Royce J. Tipton Award

To recognize contributions to the advancement of irrigation and drainage engineering, Royce J. Tipton, past Vice President and F.ASCE, contributed funds for the establishment of an award in this field of endeavor. It was officially instituted by action of the Board of Direction on October 19-20, 1964.

I.    The award is known as the Royce J. Tipton Award.

II.    The award is made to a member of the American Society of Civil Engineers or member of the Environmental and Water Resources Institute who has made a definitive contribution to the advancement of irrigation and drainage engineering either in teaching, research, planning, design, construction, or management, these contributions being made through notable performance, long years of service, or specific actions which have served to advance the science of irrigation and drainage engineering. Publications written by the nominee may be considered as part of the selection process.

III.    Not more than one award of the prize is made each year unless the achievement upon which the award is based is considered to be the contribution of more than one person. The recipient may be invited to present a lecture at an appropriate meeting of the Society. The lecture will be published in the Division's Irrigation and Drainage Engineering Journal.

IV.    Nominations for the award will be evaluated by the Irrigation and Drainage Council Awards Committee. The awards Committee is composed of the following voting members of the Irrigation and Drainage Council: chair, vice-chair, past-chair, chairs of standing committees, news correspondent, and editor of the Journal of Irrigation and Drainage Engineering. The Committee shall recommend a recipient to the Governing Board of the Environmental and Water Resources Institute. The Governing Board of the Environmental and Water Resources Institute shall submit their nomination to the Executive Committee of the ASCE Board of Direction of the Society for approval.

V.    Nominees not selected in the initial year will be held over for consideration through the next two selection cycles. At the end of the third cycle, nominees not chosen will be removed from consideration, but will remain eligible for re-nomination by submission of a new nomination package.

VI.    The award consists of a plaque and cash prize determined annually by and subject to the approval of the Executive Committee of the ASCE Board of Direction based on the income from the award endowment. If the award is made for a joint effort, the lead recipient shall receive the plaque and cash prize. All other recipients shall receive only a certificate.

To nominate, submit the following

Electronic submissions are encouraged to by October 1. Paper submissions are also accepted, in which case one copy of the complete nomination package should be received by the Honors and Awards Program at the ASCE headquarters: 1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Reston, VA 20191-4400.

 Click here for a list of past award recipients