You are not logged in. Login

von Karman Medal Rules


Theodore von Karman Medal

This award was established and endowed in 1960 by the Engineering Mechanics Division of the Society, with gifts presented by the many friends and admirers of Theodore von Karman, Hon.M.ASCE.

I.    The award is known as the Theodore von Karman Medal.

II.    The award recognizes distinguished achievement in engineering mechanics, applicable to any branch of civil engineering.

III.    Age, nationality, and Society membership shall not be a consideration in making the award.

IV.    The award is normally made every year on the basis of nominations submitted to the award committee no later than November 1. It may be omitted at the discretion of the award committee. Subject to restrictions imposed by Society policy, more than one award may be made in any given year.

V.    Nominees not selected in a given year will be held over for consideration for one addition year. At the end of two years, nominees not chosen will no longer be eligible for consideration. Nominators who wish for their candidate to be considered for another two-year period must produce a new nomination package.

VI.    The award committee shall consist of the members of the Advisory Board of the Engineering Mechanics Institute whose duty shall be to recommend nominees for formal action by the ASCE Executive Committee.

VII.    The award consists of a bronze medal.

To nominate, submit the following:

  • A cover letter, signed by the nominator
  • An Official Award Nomination form  
  • The nominee's CV or biographical information
  • Two or three letters of recommendation

Electronic submissions are encouraged to by November 1. Paper submissions are also accepted, in which case one copy of the complete nomination package should be received by the Honors and Awards Program at the ASCE headquarters: 1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Reston, VA 20191-4400.

Click here for a list of past award recipients