You are not logged in. Login

2012 OPAL Winners


Outstanding Projects And Leaders (OPAL Awards)

Established in 1999, these prestigious awards recognize and honor outstanding civil engineering leaders whose lifetime accomplishments and achievements have made significant differences in one of five categories: Construction, Design, Education, Government, and Management. For more information on these winners visit ASCE News.

The 2012 OPAL Winners are:


Abrahams, Michael     

Michael J. Abrahams, P.E., F.ASCE


Parsons Brinckerhoff, Inc.

 Bowen, Robert  

Robert L. Bowen, P.E., Dist.M.ASCE


Bowen Engineering Corporation

 Lombardi, Francis  

Francis J. Lombardi, P.E., Dist.M.ASCE


The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey

 Schexnayder, Clifford  

Clifford Schexnayder, Ph.D., P.E., Dist.M.ASCE


Arizona State University

 Warne, Thomas


Thomas R. Warne, P.E., M.ASCE


Tom Warne and Associates, LLC


Henry L. Michel Award for Industry Advancement of Research

The Henry L. Michel Award for Industry Advancement of Research was established in 1996 in honor of Henry L. Michel, Past Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Civil Engineering Forum for Innovation (CEFI), formerly the Civil Engineering Research Foundation. 


Nanni, Antonio      

The 2012 Michel Award Winner is:

Antonio Nanni, Ph.D., P.E., F.ASCE

University of Miami


ASCE Excellence in Journalism Award

The ASCE Excellence in Journalism Award was instituted in 1994 to recognize journalists for outstanding coverage of the issues involving clean water, transportation, the environment and other public works projects and enhance the public’s understanding of civil engineering.      


 Jon Schmitz        The 2012 Journalism Award Winner is:  

 Jon Schmitz

Pittsburgh-Post Gazette