You are not logged in. Login

2013 OPAL Winners


Outstanding Projects And Leaders (OPAL Awards)

Established in 1999, these prestigious awards recognize and honor outstanding civil engineering leaders whose lifetime accomplishments and achievements have made significant differences in one of five categories: Construction, Design, Education, Government, and Management. For more information on these winners visit ASCE News.

The 2013 OPAL Winners are:


Robert Alger

Robert Alger


The Lane Corporation


Charles Thornton

Charles Thornton


Charles H. Thornton & Co., LLC


Charles Ladd

Charles Ladd


Massachusetts Institute of Technology


Bo Temple

Bo Temple


U.S. Army Corps of Engineers


Mike Loose

Mike Loose, VADM, CEC, USN (Ret.)


Parsons Corporation


Henry L. Michel Award for Industry Advancement of Research

The Henry L. Michel Award for Industry Advancement of Research was established in 1996 in honor of Henry L. Michel, Past Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Civil Engineering Forum for Innovation (CEFI), formerly the Civil Engineering Research Foundation. 

  Sreenivas Alampalli  

The 2013 Michel Award Winner is:

Sreenivas Alampalli, Ph.D., P.E., F.ASCE

New York State Department of Transportation

ASCE Excellence in Journalism Award

The ASCE Excellence in Journalism Award was instituted in 1994 to recognize journalists for outstanding coverage of the issues involving clean water, transportation, the environment and other public works projects and enhance the public’s understanding of civil engineering.

    The 2013 Journalism Award Winner will be announced soon.