You are not logged in. Login

2014 OPAL Winners


Outstanding Projects And Leaders (OPAL Awards)

Established in 1999, these prestigious awards recognize and honor outstanding civil engineering leaders whose lifetime accomplishments and achievements have made significant differences in one of five categories: Construction, Design, Education, Government, and Management. For more information on these winners visit .

The 2015 OPAL Winners are:

Andrew K. Phelps


Andrew K. Phelps, P.E., M.ASCE


Principal Vice President & Manager of Operations, Bechtel Mining & Metals.


Edward J. Schmeltz


Edward J. Schmeltz, P.E., F.ASCE


Senior Vice President, Director of Maritime & Special Projects, AECOM Technology.


Bernard Amadei


Bernard Amadei, Ph.D., Dist.M.ASCE, NAE


Professor of Civil Engineering, University of Colorado at Boulder and Founder of EWB-USA.


Thomas D. Rust


Thomas D. Rust, P.E., M.ASCE


Vice Chairman, Pennoni Associates and Virginia House of Delegates member


Nicholas DeNichilo


Nicholas DeNichilo, P.E., M.ASCE


President & CEO, Hatch Mott MacDonald

Henry L. Michel Award for Industry Advancement of Research

The Henry L. Michel Award for Industry Advancement of Research was established in 1996 in honor of Henry L. Michel, Past Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Civil Engineering Forum for Innovation (CEFI), formerly the Civil Engineering Research Foundation. 


The 2015 Michel Award Winner is:

Anil K. Kar, Ph.D., P.E., F.ASCE

ASCE Excellence in Journalism Award

The ASCE Excellence in Journalism Award was instituted in 1994 to recognize journalists for outstanding coverage of the issues involving clean water, transportation, the environment and other public works projects and enhance the public’s understanding of civil engineering.


The 2014 Journalism Award Winner is:

Mary Helen Berg

"Humble to Heroic," USA Today