You are not logged in. Login

Laurie Award Rules


James Laurie Prize

The James Laurie prize was established by the Society on October 1, 1912, and is named in honor of the first President of the Society. In the period from 1912 through 1965, the Prize was awarded under the rules for the Thomas Fitch Rowland Prize for the paper judged to be next in order of merit. By action of the Board of Direction in October 1964, beginning in 1966, the Prize has been awarded on the basis of contributions to the advancement of transportation engineering. It is administered by the Transportation and Development Institute through the Honors and Awards Program.

I. The award is made annually to a member of the American Society of Civil Engineers who has made a definite contribution to the advancement of transportation engineering, either in research, planning, design, or construction, these contributions being made either in the form of papers or other written presentations, or through notable performance or specific actions which have served to advance transportation engineering.

II. Not more than one award of the Prize is made each year unless the achievement upon which the award is based is considered to be the contribution of more than one person, such as joint authorship of a paper. No one shall receive the honor more than once.

III. Each Section and Branch and Technical Division Executive Committee shall be entitled to enter the name of one nominee annually. These names, and supporting documents, will be assembled by the Executive Director and referred to the judging committee.

IV. The Awards Committee of T&DI reviews nominations presented by the Honors and Awards program and recommends to the Board of Governors of T&DI the recipient, if any, for final action by the Executive Committee of the ASCE Board of Direction.

V. Nominees not selected in a given year may be held over for consideration by the Awards Committee of the T&DI, with approval from the Board of Governors of T&DI. The names of these nominees will be conveyed to the Honors and Awards program office.

VI. The award consists of a plaque. Award winners who are not the lead recipient shall receive only a certificate.

To nominate, submit the following:
• A cover letter, signed by the nominator
• An Official Award Nomination form
• The nominee’s CV or biographical information
• Two or three letters of recommendation

Electronic submissions are encouraged to by November 1. Paper submissions are also accepted, in which case one copy of the complete nomination package should be received by the Honors and Awards Program at the ASCE headquarters: 1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Reston, VA 20191-4400.