You are not logged in. Login

The Committee on Younger Members provides a number of awards to recognize younger member contributions to the society and the profession. CYM is actively soliciting nominations for the different awards described below. Candidates must meet the criteria for each award. Contact Leslie Payne at ASCE Headquarters or call ASCE Central at (800) 548-2723 for more information.

At the Spring meeting of CYM, the members vote on the awards. The Employer Recognition Award is voted on at the Fall meeting.

Award Nomination Deadlines and Form 

February 1

August 1  

2013 Award Winners

Younger Member Group Award   

Letter of Commendation: Wisconsin Section, Southeast Branch Younger Member Group

Younger Member Group Website 

Collingwood Prize:

  • "Visual Pattern Recognition Models for Remote Sensing of Civil Infrastructure" by Ioannis Brilakis, Ph. D., M. ASCE (lead author), Stephanie German, S.M. ASCE (co-author), Zhenhua Zhu, Ph. D., A.M. ASCE (co-author)

Edmund Friedman Young Engineer Award for Professional Achievement

  • Charles Griffith, P.E., M.ASCE
  • Jason Havens, P.E., M.ASCE
  • Lara Karamatsu, P.E., M.ASCE
  • Amanda Shellenberger, P.E., M.ASCE
  • Rune Storesund, P.E., G.E., M. ASCE 

Daniel W. Mead Prize for Younger Members

  • Jacqueline M. Wilson, EI, A.M. ASCE

Young Government Civil Engineer Award   

  • Julian Dresang, P.E., M. ASCE

Younger Member Employer Recognition Award

2012 Superior Recognition Awards:

  • Private Sector: AECOM, Pittsburgh, PA

2012 Recognition Awards:

  • ARMB, Baton Rouge, LA
  • American Transmission Company, Pewaukee, WII
  • Anchor QEA, LLC, Seattle, WA
  • Bowers + Kubota Consulting, Inc., Waipahu, HI
  • Brown & Gay Engineers, Houston, TX
  • BSK Associates, Fresno, CA
  • CH2M HILL, Raleigh-Durham, NC
  • Chen Moore & Associates, Miami, FL
  • David Ford Consulting Engineers, Sacramento, CA
  • EGS, Inc., Tallahassee, FL
  • EMCS, Inc., Milwaukee, WI
  • Erdman Anthony, Rochester, NY
  • Fukunaga & Associates, Inc., Honolulu, HI
  • Golder Associates, New England Operations
  • HDR, Inc., Folsom, CA
  • LJA Engineering Inc., West Houston, TX
  • Parsons Brinckerhoff, Honolulu, HI
  • Parsons Brinckerhoff, Manchester, NH
  • Parsons Brinckerhoff, Portland, OR
  • Snyder & Associates, Inc., Ankeny, IA
  • Stantec Consulting Services, Inc., Nashville, TN
  • Terracon Consultants, Inc., Houston, TX

Past Awards

2012 Award Winners
2011 Award Winners
2010 Award Winners