You are not logged in. Login



Media Contact(s):
Jim Jennings, 703-295-6406/540-272-1452c,

Tuesday, April 17, 2012

Washington, DC—The American Association of Engineering Societies today honored seven outstanding engineers for achievement in the engineering profession at its annual awards dinner here last night. Davis Mongan, chairman of AAES, presented the awards during the dinner ceremony at the National Academy of Engineering Keck Center.

John L. Anderson, Ph.D. was selected to receive the National Engineering Award, recognizing inspirational leadership and tireless devotion to the improvement of engineering education and to the advancement of the engineering profession, as well as to the development of sound public policies as an engineer-statesman.

Since 2007, as the president of Illinois Institute of Technology, Dr. Anderson has provided exemplary leadership and significantly contributed to the advancement of women in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) fields. As a committed advocate for the development of women faculty in science and engineering, Dr. Anderson promoted policies that enhance the careers of women engineers and scientists and provided funds to implement those policies.

Leslie E. Robertson was named the recipient of the John Fritz Medal for innovations and achievements in structural design.

Mr. Robertson is responsible for the structural design of hundreds of buildings and structures around the world, including the World Trade Center towers. He has set new standards in the design and construction of tall buildings. A pioneer in the application of computer design, he has advanced the art and science of structural engineering theory. He pioneered several innovations, including a composite steel-concrete mega-structure.

Dale L. Keairns, Ph.D. was selected to receive the Kenneth Andrew Roe Award for effectively promoting unity among engineering societies.

Dr. Keairns formed and chaired the Founder Societies’ Technologies for Carbon Management project and has worked to promote unity among the engineering societies in effectively addressing the Grand Challenge posed by carbon management issues.

Bonnie J. Dunbar, Ph.D. was recognized with the Norm Augustine Award for Outstanding Achievement in Engineering Communications.

Since December 2011, Dr. Dunbar has been Director of Higher Education & Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) for The Boeing Company. In this central role, she leads education policy and strategy, integration of colleges and universities into the company’s school portfolio and strategic development and alignment of its STEM initiatives. Prior to joining Boeing, she owned Dunbar International LLC, an aerospace and STEM education consulting company. Among her company’s projects was an effort to bring a retiring Space Shuttle to Washington State and fundraising for Aviation High School. Previously, she was President and CEO of the Seattle Museum of Flight for five years. During her tenure there, K-12 STEM programs were expanded to reach nearly 140,000 students per year. She also founded the Washington Aerospace Scholars program for high school juniors in partnership with NASA and the State of Washington.

Rao Y. Surampalli, Ph.D was named the recipient of the Joan Hodges Queneau Palladium Medal for encouraging cooperation between engineers and environmentalists.

Dr. Surampalli is the Engineer Director of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and Adjunct Professor of Civil/Environmental Engineering at the University of Missouri, Columbia. He is recognized internationally for his research contributions that are addressing key environmental issues worldwide.

Colonel Mason received the AAES Engineering Journalism Award for contributing to the public’s understanding of engineering, science, and technology through his radio show, The Promise of Tomorrow.

Mr. Mason’s radio show is produced by the ScienceNews Radio network. The program focuses on energy, defense, aerospace, medicine, semiconductors and nanotechnology. It can be heard on 125 radio stations around the world.

Norman R. Augustine was recognized with the AAES’s Chair Award for distinguished service to our nation as Undersecretary of the Army and as a recipient of the National Medal of Technology, for visionary leadership as the chair of the National Academy of Engineering report Rising Above the Gathering Storm, and for lifelong dedication to the engineering profession and STEM education.

Mr. Augustine is the retired Chairman and CEO of the Board of the Lockheed Martin Corporation. Additionally, he served on the Boards of Black & Decker, Procter & Gamble, and ConocoPhillips. He holds 28 honorary degrees and was selected by Who’s Who in America and the Library of Congress as one of “Fifty Great Americans.”

-# # #-