You are not logged in. Login

Spotlight on the Schools - Kansas State University

 Curriculum Overview | Recent News | Distinguished Alumni | Additional Information



Kansas State University - Department of Architectural Engineering and Construction Science

Department Head: David R. Fritchen

Date AE Program was Founded: The Architectural Engineering (ARE) program at Kansas State University was formed in 1925 as a building structures program in the College of Architecture. In 1975, the program was transferred to the College of Engineering, along with a Construction Science and Management (CNS) program, to form the Department of Architectural Engineering and Construction Science. The program first became ABET-accredited in 1978.

Number of Students & Faculty: Over the years, the program has evolved and grown to become a large practice-based architectural engineering program focusing on undergraduate education in the areas of building mechanical, electrical, and structural systems. The department, the largest in the college, is now home to about 750 students, with about 350 architectural engineering students and 400 construction science students. Both the ARE and CNS programs are served by the same eighteen faculty members and four staff members. The program puts more emphasis on industry experience and professional practice than academic credentials. Accordingly, all faculty teaching engineering design courses are licensed professional engineers and the faculty members have over 300 years of combined industry experience.

Number of Graduates per Year: Approximately 45-55 per year in architectural engineering and 70-80 per year in construction science and management.

E-mail address: 
 Back to top

Curriculum Overview

Program Educational Objectives  

Within the first few years following graduation from the five year Architectural Engineering program at Kansas State University, graduates are expected to be working as a professional in an area closely related to architectural engineering, pursuing licensure, and advancing professionally with confidence and experience in one or more of the architectural engineering disciplines of structural, mechanical, electrical, or construction.

The curriculum aligns with the program educational objectives by utilizing a five-year Bachelor of Science program that is accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET, This involves approximately four years of engineering and one year of building architectural and construction related courses. This course of study provides the theoretical tools required for engineering design and the ability to apply these tools as a member of a whole building design/construction team. A combined M.S./B.S. option is available that allows students to complete both degrees in 5-1/2 years.

Focus areas

While there are no separate degree tracks, graduates focus on one of the following areas in the following approximate percentages:

  • Building Mechanical 40-60%
  • Building Electrical 20-25%
  • Building Structural 15-20%
  • Construction/Other 10-15%

Back to top

Recent News/Events/Awards

K-State Architectural Engineering is the 2010 recipient of the American Society of Civil Engineer’s Walter LeFevre Award. The society selected K-State’s ARE program for its outstanding promotion of licensure, ethics and professionalism.

Other recent awards/news includes the following:

  • 2011 Architectural Engineering Institute Charles Pankow National Student Design Competition: 1st Place – Construction, 1st Place – Electrical Systems Design
  • 2010 International ASHRAE Design Competition: 1st Place - System Selection
  • 2010 ACI International Concrete Construction Student Competition – 1st Place
  • 2010 Architectural Engineering Institute Charles Pankow National Student Design Competition: 1st Place – Integrated Building Systems Design, 1st Place – Electrical Systems Design, 2nd Place – Mechanical Systems Design
  • 2010 ACI Pervious Concrete Competition – 2nd Place
  • Department Head Dave Fritchen received the 2010 University Presidential Award for Department Head of the Year
  • Associate Professor Ray Yunk was named President Elect of the Board of Governors for the Architectural Engineering Institute (AEI) of ASCE
  • Professor James Goddard was named Vice President and President Elect of the American Council for Construction Education
  • Assistant Professor Julia Keen received the 2009 Outstanding Teaching Award from the Midwest Section of the American Society of Engineering Education.

Highlights of recent student group activities:

The department is home to 9 student groups who are very active. Some recent highlights include:

  • Student Group Highlight Conference/Trip
  • AEI GreenBuild Chicago, AEI National Conference Oakland
  • IES LightFair Philadelphia
  • ASHRAE ASHRAE Winter Conference Las Vegas
  • SEAKM Toronto Trip and Tour

Back to top

Distinguished Alumni

The program has produced dozens of consulting engineering company founders and principals, many who have served on the program’s industry advisory council. Current alumni members of the advisory council include:

  • Daren Shumate, PE, LEED AP (Chair), Director of East Coast Operations, Rosendin Electric, Alexandria, VA
  • David D. Haake, PE (Vice Chair), Executive Vice President, Henderson Engineers, Lenexa, KS
  • Jeff Sawarynski, PE, Principal, M-E Engineers, Denver, CO
  • David Krug, PE, LEED AP, Vice President, Brack & Associates, Topeka, KS
  • Jeffrey Wells, PE, SE, LEED AP, Principal, Wells & Scaletty, Springfield, MO
  • Laura Blanchard, PE, LC, Principal, Hoss & Brown Engineers, Lawrence, KS
  • Curtis Brungardt, PE, Principal, Insite Group, Blue Springs, MO
  • Mark McAfee, PE, Vice President, Dudley Williams and Associates, Wichita, KS
  • Todd R. Stonebraker, PE, LEED AP, Principal, Director of Engineering, ATI, Houston, TX
  • Darren Harvey, PE, LEED AP, Vice President, Smith Seckman Reid, Leawod, KS
  • David W. Dawson, PE, Principal, W. L. Cassell & Associates, Kansas City, MO

Back to top

Additional Information

For additional program information please contact the program coordinator:

Raphael A. (Ray) Yunk, P.E., LEED AP BD+C
ARE Program Coordinator
Department of Architectural Engineering & Construction Science
240 Seaton Hall, Manhattan, KS 66506
Phone: 785.532.5964; Fax: 785.532.3556; E-mail:

Download this Spotlight as a PDF

Back to top