You are not logged in. Login


Honors and Awards Recognized Excellence in CI


CI and ASCE’s Honors and Awards program recognizes the commendable achievements and remarkable accomplishments of the civil engineering profession.
The list of awards below is composed of awards presented by the Construction Institute.


Submission Deadline


Construction Management Award 

August 15th

Recognizes outstanding contributions to the field of construction management as a practitioner, educator, or researcher through presentations, scholarly work or notable performance.

Daniel Halpin Award for Scholarship

November 1st

The Daniel W. Halpin Award recognized individuals who have demonstrated outstanding scholarship that advances construction engineering as a science (within 10 years of receiving a doctoral degree).

Rowland Prize 

November 1st

The Thomas Fitch Rowland Prize recognizes a paper describing accomplished works of construction or providing valuable contributions to construction management and construction engineering.

Howard Award

November 1st

The Ernest E. Howard Award recognizes an ASCE member who has made a definite contribution to the advancement of structural engineering through paper, presentation or performance, in research, planning, design or construction including methods and materials.

Roebling Award  

November 1st

Established by the Construction Institute in memory of John A., Washington, and Emily Roebling to honor an individual who has made an outstanding contribution toward the advancement of Construction Engineering. The recipient may be invited to deliver a “Roebling Lecture”.

Bickel Award

November 1st

The John O. Bickel Award was endowed by Parsons Brinckerhoff in honor of John O. Bickel a 50-year employee, partner and eminent engineer for rail and vehicular tunnels. It recognizes the author(s) of the best original article or paper published by the Society during the year concerning the design and/or construction of a rail or vehicular tunnel, especially tunnels constructed by immersed or sunken tube method.

Peurifoy Award 

November 1st


The Peurifoy Construction Research Award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of construction engineering through research and development of new technology, principles or practices. The recipient may be invited to present a “Peurifoy Construction Advancement Address”. Requires Official Award Nomination Form and Peurifoy Nomination Form

Construction Engineering Scholarship

May 1st

CI helps to support future engineers as they pursue higher education by awarding the Construction Engineering Scholarship each year. Applicants should be undergraduate (freshman, sophomore, junior or first-year senior) students, a CI student member and/or ASCE student member. The award is to be used to continue undergraduate education at an ABET, ACCE, or similarly-accredited educational institution.


For more information about ASCE's Honors Program, please visit the Honors and Awards page on the ASCE website.