You are not logged in. Login

Kenneth M. Childs, Jr. Practitioner's Award

The Kenneth M. Childs, Jr. Practitioner's Award was established in 2005 by the COPRI Ports and Harbors Committee in memory of Kenny Childs, Jr.


The award is designed to recognize design and construction practicing engineers employed in the marine engineering profession with demonstrated leadership and/or achievement in harbor and coastal projects. This recognition is awarded to members of ASCE who are judged to have attained significant professional achievement, by the degree to which the candidates have shown:

  • service to the advancement of the marine engineering profession;
  • evidence of technical competence, high character and integrity;
  • leadership in the development of younger member attitudes towards the profession;
  • other evidence of merit, which in the judgment of the award committee, shall have advanced the Committee’s objectives.

Nomination Process

Nomination Form

Submit nominations to the COPRI Ports & Harbors Awards Committee Chairman, Matt Martinez, for referral to the Selection Committee. Awards intended to be presented at the COPRI Ports Conference should be submitted by October 1st, the year preceding the conference. The Award shall be made when, in the judgment of the award committee, suitable candidate or candidates are available. There is no limit to the number of recipients named in any year and no recipient may receive the award more than once.As a minimum, at least one award will be given at the ASCE COPRI Ports Conference. An individual, or group of individuals, may submit nominations, in writing, for this award utilizing the proper format.

About Kenny Childs, Jr.

Childs was a longtime member of COPRI, its preceding technical group, and the Ports & Harbors Committee. He was known for his devotion to the engineering profession. Ports and Harbors members recall that Kenny was always professional, and tireless in his efforts to challenge the status quo to create positive change. His efforts did not diminish with age, but rather his influence increased as he stayed abreast of current events and became the senior statesman for the Committee and his profession.

Previous Awardees

  • 2010 - E. Douglas Sethness
  • 2010 - Alan Schrader
  • 2008 - The Family of Kenny Childs