You are not logged in. Login

2009 OTC Hall of Fame Gala

COPRI Honors Authors at Fourth Annual Hall of Fame Gala

The fourth annual ASCE OTC Hall of Fame Gala Dinner, held Tuesday May 5, 2009, brought a dozen honorees to Houston from as far as Maine and Washington to celebrate papers with a lasting legacy. International winners Gunnar Wold and Thorbjorn Kristoffersen, deceased, were represented by Peter Bjerager, a senior vice president and director of operations at Det Norske Veritas, where both of the Norwegian winners worked for many years.

This year’s gala celebrated the induction of 7 papers by 17 authors. Special guests included ASCE President D. Wayne Klotz, P.E., F.ASCE, D.WRE, who congratulated the winners on the lasting impact of their papers. ASCE Executive Director Patrick J. Natale, P.E., F.ASCE, thanked the honorees for their efforts on behalf of ASCE. Also in attendance, were three COPRI past presidents: Jim Dailey, Ph.D, P.E., M.ASCE, Billy Edge, Ph.D, P.E, Dist.M.ASCE, and Gordon Sterling, M.ASCE.

COPRI is especially grateful to outgoing Chairman Dan Smith for his services to the ASCE OTC Technical Program Committee from 2006 to 2008. In addition to helping with gala planning, Smith worked tirelessly with committee members to make the 2009 gala and the OTC technical program the best yet. His efforts will continue as he assumes the role of OTC Program Committee Chair on behalf of ASCE. The Program Committee oversees the entire conference technical program.

Hall of Fame emcee Dave Wisch, a Chevron Fellow, helped make the evening shine for this year’s honorees with delightful stories about their careers and the work that went into the honored papers. COPRI would also like to thank the companies that helped make this year’s gala a success. The 2009 silver sponsors are Shell, and Geoscience Earth and Marine Services. Our 2009 bronze sponsor is Houston Offshore Engineering. The Hall of Fame experience was enriched this year by the participation of a group from Texas A&M University.

At the 2009 OTC, the ASCE committee contributed seven technical sessions and a topical luncheon entitled, ““Peak Everything ... Oil, Water, Raw Materials and Other Constraints” by Matt Simmons and chaired by Joe Kallaby. The ASCE Committee was also responsible for identifying the year’s best paper. The best paper competition allows the Institute to recognize the individuals who go the distance to make the conference technical sessions valuable to attendees. Winners receive a plaque and are honored at a meeting of the COPRI OTC conference planning committee. 

 OTC Hall of Fame Awards 2009 

2009 Winners and Dignitaries include (from back left): ASCE Executive Director Pat Natale, P.E., F.ASCE,
Earl Doyle, Allan Reece, Vince Cardone, Skip Ward, Don Murff, Terry Miller, Peter Bejarager, Pete Arnold,
George Z. Forristall, C.J. Garrison, Jennifer Irish, and ASCE President D. Wayne Klotz, P.E., D.WRE, F.ASCE.