You are not logged in. Login

ASCE OTC Hall of Fame Gala 2013

Around 200 attendees gathered at the Petroleum Club in Houston, TX to honor the authors of six exception technical papers presented at past Offshore Technology Conferences (OTC). ASCE and COPRI congratulate the awardees and Diplomates and thank them for their incredible work and dedication to the profession.

Honored guests In attendance were Dr. Fred Moses, Dr. Bernhard Stahl, Patt Dunn (accepting on behalf of Dr. Richard Larrabee) Dr. Jim Lloyd, Dr. DemirKarsan, Dr. Suzanne Lacasse, Dr. Alain Goulois, Bernadette Tang (accepting on behalf of Dr. Wilson Tang), and John Pelletier. Dr. Lacasse also accepted the award on behalf of Dr. Svein Fjeld, who unfortunately could not make the dinner.

The awards were presented by ASCE Executive Director Pat Natale, and ASCE President Gregory DiLoreto. Also in attendance were ASCE Board of Direction, At-Large Director Steve Curtis and Technical Region Director Billy Edge; COPRI President Pat Hudson; Offshore Technology Technical Program Committee Chair Dave Barton; Ocean and Offshore Engineering Committee Chair Jeff Cerquetti; Texas A&M Student Chapter President John Goertz; and master of ceremonies Dave Wisch. 

ACOPNE inductions also took place at the gala, presented by Billy Edge, and receiving their certifications were Joe Kallaby and Robert Robertson. Robert Brown and Bil Stewart unfortunately could not attend the induction ceremony, but ACOPNE recognizes their certification in Ocean Engineering.

COPRI and ASCE wish to thank the 2013 sponsors for their generous contributions, and for making this event possible each year. 

The Ninth Annual ASCE OTC Hall of Fame Gala will take place Tuesday, May 6, 2014.

2013 Honored Papers


Gold Sponsor

  BP Logo 2013

Silver Sponsors

  Chevron Logo 2013   
   Houston Offshore Logo 2013

Bronze Sponsors

  Energo Logo KBR
  Granherne Logo KBR
   GEMS Logo 2013
   FORUM Logo 2013


  • OTC Paper 3027 (1977). Svein Fjeld of Det norske Veritas. Reliability of Offshore Structures.
  • OTC Paper 3046 (1978). F.Moses of Case Western Reserve University and B. Stahl of Amoco Production Company. Reliability Analysis Format for Offshore Structures.
  • OTC Paper 5699 (1988). F.Moses of Case Western Reserve University and R.D. Larrabee of Shell Oil Co. Calibration Of The Draft Rp2A-Lrfd For Fixed Platforms
  • OTC Paper 5882 (1988). J.R. Lloyd of Exxon Production Research Co. and D.I. Karsan of Conoco Inc. Development of a Reliability-Based Alternative to API RP2A.
  • OTC Paper 6001. S. Lacasse of Norwegian Geotechnical Inst. and A.M. Goulois of Elf Aquitaine. Uncertainty in API Parameters for Prediction of Axial Capacity of Driven Piles in Sand.
  • OTC Paper 6379 (1990). W.H. Tang of University of Illinois, D.L. Woodford of Texaco U.S.A, and J.H. Pelletier of Shell Development Co. Performance Reliability of Offshore Piles



Sponsorship of the Gala is essential to its continued success. ASCE and COPRI appreciate the generous support of our sponsors. With your donation, the Committee is able to host a wonderful evening for the Hall of Fame honorees, and celebrate their lasting impact on the offshore industry.

We hope your company will consider sponsoring the Gala in 2014. For additional information about our Sponsorship Packages, please contact Sean Scully at 703-295-6154.