You are not logged in. Login

EMI Leonardo Da Vinci Award - criteria

The Engineering Mechanics Institute (EMI) herewith establishes the EMI Leonardo Da Vinci Award. The purpose of the award is to recognize outstanding young investigators early in their careers for promising ground-breaking developments in the field of Engineering Mechanics and Mechanical Sciences as relevant to Civil Engineering, understood in the broadest sense.

Provided nominations of suitable candidates are received, the award is given every year to a young investigator, generally below the age of 35, whose contributions have the promise to define new directions in theory and application of Engineering Mechanics, in the vein of Leonardo da Vinci (1452-1519), a man of unquenchable curiosity and feverishly inventive imagination.

Leonardo da Vinci, in his work related to mechanics, conceptualized many later developments in solid and fluid mechanics, like the bending of beams or the partitioning of energy into potential and kinetic components which is now known as the Bernoulli Theorem in Fluid Mechanics (for details see e.g., Ballarini R. (2003), “The Da Vinci-Euler-Bernoulli Beam Theory?”, Mechanical Engineering).

The nomination shall consist of:
1. A cover letter, signed by the nominator.
2. Three letters of recommendation.
3. The nominee’s CV.
4. A one-page research statement of the Nominee.
5. Three publications in peer-reviewed journals, which either have been published or have been accepted for publication.

The award will be given without regard for Society membership or nationality. No individual shall receive the award more than once.

The deadline for nomination is November 1 of each year.  Nominations should be submitted to the Director of EMI. The award consists of a plaque. The award will be presented during the EMI annual conference.