Member Login Menu

OPAL Awards Gala

Mar 15, 2018

Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

2800 South Potomac Avenue
Arlington , VA 22202

Purchase Your Gala Tickets

Please join us by registering for the 2018 OPAL Awards Gala where we will honor these remarkable projects and individuals.

Individual Tickets

  • $295 if purchased by February 1, 2018
  • $350 if purchased February 2-28, 2018

Purchase Gala Tickets

Book Your Hotel By

American Society of Civil Engineers - OPAL
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel for $264.00 USD per night

Book your Hotel Group Rate

Government Rate - $242.00 USD per night

Book the Hotel Government Rate

Reserved Tables (10 seats)

Form to Purchase a Table (PDF)  

  • $2,500 if purchased by February 1, 2018
  • $3,200 if purchased February 2 - 28, 2018 

The dress code for the evening is black tie optional. 


6:00 - 7:00 p.m. | Reception 
7:00 - 9:45 p.m. | Dinner where OCEA Winner will be announced 
9:45 - 11:00 p.m. | Afterglow Reception


On-site parking fee, in/out privileges: 29 USD daily; 9 USD hourly 
Valet parking: 34 USD daily  

Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport - DCA    
Airport shuttle service, scheduled complimentary  
Shuttle phone: 1-703-413-1300        

Crystal City Station 0.09 mile(s) N
Taxi Fare: 11 USD (one-way estimated)  

OCEA Finalists:

  • Elizabeth River Tunnels Project, Norfolk & Portsmouth, VA
  • Folsom Dam Auxiliary Spillway, Phase IV, Folsom, CA
  • Jane Addams Memorial Tollway (I-990) Fox River Bridge Project, Elgin, IL
  • Second Avenue Subway - Phase 1, New York, NY
  • SR-520 Floating Bridge & Landings Project, Seattle & Medina, WA

OPAL Leadership Award Winners:

  • F. Dave Zanetell, Jr., P.E., M.ASCE - Construction - President, Kraemer North America LLC
  • Sharon L. Wood, Ph.D., P.E., F.ASCE, NAE - Education - Dean, School of Engineering, University of Texas at Austin
  • Kyle E. Schilling, P.E., BCEE, D.WRE, F.EWRI, Dist.M.ASCE - Government - Director (retired), U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Institute for Water Resources
  • William F. Brumund, Ph.D., P.E., F.ASCE - Management - President and Global CEO for Golder Associates (retired)

Charles Pankow Award for Innovation:

  • Wall of Wind Resilience and Innovation Facility

Henry L. Michel Award for Industry Advancement of Research:

  • Richard M. Kunnath, P.E., M.ASCE
  • Board President, Charles Pankow Foundation

ASCE Excellence in Journalism Award:

  • Kris Van Cleave, CBS News Sunday Morning

Nominations and Gala Information

Jane Moran Alspach
(800) 548-ASCE (2723)

Sponsorship Opportunities

Sponsor Commitment Form

Sean Scully
Phone: (703) 295-6154 






Corporate Sponsors

Bank of America

Geico Sponsor

Keller North America


UPS 69x


Charles Pankow Foundation