You are not logged in. Login

Margaret Petersen Award

Margaret S. Petersen Award

  For an outstanding woman in environmental and water resources  

This award was established to honor Margaret S. Petersen, P.E., D.WRE, Dist.M.ASCE, a pioneer in hydraulics and water resources engineering. The funds for the award were obtained through the solicitation of gifts from her colleagues, admirers and friends. 

I. The award may be made annually to a female member of ASCE or EWRI (except Student Member) who has demonstrated exemplary service to the water resources and environmental science and engineering community.

II. Criteria may include EWRI leadership through standing or task committee participation; university or industry excellence in the water recourse, hydraulics, or environmental-related science and engineering profession.

III. The recipient is strongly encouraged to serve as an ambassador for the award by promoting it at her university, engineering alumni group(s) and/or via her employer. The recipient is also encouraged to sponsor a female student to the EWRI Congress and/or to mentor a female student at a local university.
IV. Not more than one award may be presented in any given year. No one shall receive the honor more than once.

V. The award selection committee shall be composed of two (2) members of the EWRI Education and Research Council, two (2) members of the EWRI emerging and Innovative Technologies Committee, two (2) at-large members, and two (2) recent award recipients; all must be EWRI members. The Institute Operations ExCom officer, who is also a member of the EWRI Institute Awards Committee, shall serve as the chair and organizer of the award selection committee. The chair shall vote for the award recipient only during instances when the vote between the other award selection committee members is a tie.

VI. The award will consist of a crystal vase, suitably inscribed with the name of the recipient and the year of award, and a cash prize, determined annually based on the income from the award endowment.

VII. The first year of award shall be 2014.

To nominate, submit the following, by the October 1 nomination deadline:

  • A third party letter of nomination
  • An official award nomination form
  • Nominee’s personal statement attending to how they meet the criteria for the award (not to exceed 1,000 words)
  • The nominee’s CV or biographical information
  • A minimum of three, maximum of five, letters of recommendation

Submit nominations to the Honors and Awards department by October 1. Paper submissions are also accepted, in which case one copy of the complete nomination package should be received by the Honors and Awards Program at the ASCE headquarters: 1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Reston, VA 20191-4400.

Please direct questions regarding the nomination process to:

Curt Elmore, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE
Professor of Geological Engineering
Missouri University of Science and Technology
Rolla, Missouri

Margaret_Petersen Christine_Shoemaker



Margaret S. Petersen, P.E., D.WRE, Dist.M.ASCE

Christine A. Shoemaker, Ph.D., NAE, Dist.M.ASCE

2014 Winner
(as Society award) 

Peggy A. Johnson, Ph.D., M.ASCE

 2012 Winner
(as EWRI award)


M. Katherine Banks, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, F.ASCE

 2011 Winner
 (as EWRI award)