You are not logged in. Login

Pioneers in Groundwater Award


The purpose of the Pioneers in Groundwater Award is to recognize and honor an individual with pioneering contributions in the teaching research and/or practice of groundwater science and engineering. A maximum of one award is given per year. An individual may receive the award only once. The award is presented annually and the recipient need not be a member of EWRI or ASCE.

The award recipient presents the plenary lecture at the Groundwater Council Awards Breakfast or Groundwater Symposium during the EWRI World Environmental and Water Resources Congress. In addition, the award recipient is encouraged to participate in the annual Groundwater Symposium.


The first Groundwater Symposia series was held in 2003. The 11th Groundwater Symposium was held in May 2013 at the EWRI Congress in Cincinnati, Ohio. Past Pioneers in Groundwater plenary speakers include William Yeh (2006), George Pinder (2007), Steven Gorelick (2008), James Butler (2009), Michael Celia (2010), Peter Kitanidis (2011), and Christine Shoemaker (2012). David Jewett was the honored speaker in 2013. Among past plenary speakers, three are members of the National Academy of Engineers and several are Society Julian Hinds Award and Walter Huber Award Winners.

In addition to providing recognition to individuals who have made significant contributions to the field, additional objectives of the plenary lecture have been to increase the visibility of the Groundwater Symposia and Groundwater Council and to encourage participation in EWRI and Groundwater Council activities and committees.

Nomination Procedure:
The Groundwater Council and its Groundwater Symposia Committee, Continuing Education Committee,and Groundwater Council Awards Subcommittee will work together to administer the Pioneers in Groundwater Award. The Groundwater Council will process the award through the EWRI Awards Committee, complying with the normal award guidelines.

Nomination Deadline:  October 1st

Nomination Package

Nomination packages must include the following:

  • Cover Letter Signed by the Nominator
  • EWRI Award Nomination Form
  • Two to Three Letters of Recommendation
  • Curriculum Vitae or Biographical Information of the Nominee

To be submitted to or by fax at 703-295-6371.

Presentation of Award

The annual Pioneers in Groundwater Award will normally be presented at the Groundwater Council Awards Breakfast or Groundwater Symposium during the EWRI Congress.

Award Type

The prize consists of a certificate until the full endowment is achieved at which time a cash prize will be given to be determined annually.

How to Contribute

To contribute to the Pioneer in Groundwater Award endowment please send your check, made payable to ASCE, to the following address:

P O Box 79162
Baltimore, MD 21279

Please make notation in the memo section of your check Pioneer in Groundwater Award. Thank You!