You are not logged in. Login

Peggy A. Johnson

Dr. Johnson is a Professor of Civil Engineering and the Head of the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department at the Pennsylvania State University. She received her B.S. from the New Mexico State University in 1981 and her PhD from the University of Maryland in 1990.

Dr. Johnson is currently the President of EWRI. She has been a member of ASCE since 1989 and of EWRI since its inception. In addition to chairing numerous technical committees in ASCE and EWRI, she also served as the Secretary of the Executive Committee of the ASCE Water Resources Engineering Division and the Vice-Chair of the Task Force on Products, Services, and Marketing, one of four TF’s that were charged with determining the structure and organization of the new EWRI. She has also served as the Chair of the EWRI Council on Hydraulics and Waterways. She has been actively engaged in women’s issues in engineering, authoring several journal articles on the topic and presenting her research on this topic at ASCE/EWRI conferences, board meetings, workshops, and other venues. She served as a reviewer to ASCE during the development of ASCEville, a website intended to attract young children to the field of Civil Engineering. In 2012, Dr. Johnson won the ASCE/EWRI Margaret Petersen Outstanding Woman of the Year award.

Dr. Johnson conducts research in the areas of bridge scour, stream restoration, reliability analyses, and river mechanics and has published more than 50 papers in peer-reviewed journals on these topics. She recently completed a research project on the development of reliability-based scour factors for bridge design. In 1992, Dr. Johnson won the National Science Foundation Young Investigator award and in 1995, she won the NSF Presidential Faculty Fellow award. She has also won several teaching awards, including the Lilly Teaching Fellow and the university's Outstanding Teacher award.
EWRI Fellow Since 2013