You are not logged in. Login

Baker Award, Wallace Hayward

Wallace Hayward Baker Award

The Award

The Wallace Hayward Baker Award was established in the year 2000 by the Geo-Institute in recognition of the creative and innovative contributions of Wallace Hayward Baker in the field of ground modification.


  1. The award will be given in recognition of ingenious innovation in the field of ground modification. Emphasis shall be placed on the resourceful development of a new technology or the creative application of existing technology to achieve field performance not previously demonstrated.
  2. Justification for the award shall be a major advancement or a career of inventive contributions to the field. Although desirable, the specific basis for the award does not have to be presented in a lecture.
  3. The award will normally be given to a single individual and is not restricted to members of the Geo-Institute; in special situations it may be given to a group of individuals.
  4. Not more than one award will be made each year, and no award shall be given if a qualified candidate is not clearly identified.
  5. The award consists of a plaque and certificate, suitably inscribed with the name of the recipient, year of the award, and brief citation describing the basis for the award. (Note: We will explore the possibility that the award may be some replica of our profession, such as a drill bit, etc.)
  6. The recipient of the award must be recommended by the Awards Committee and approved by the Geo-Institute Board of Governors.
  7. A nomination must include biographical data for the nominee and a clear description of the basis for the award, including a 20-word-or-less ending to the statement, "The Wallace Hayward Baker Award is given to ____________ in recognition of (20 words or less)".
  8. The recipient or the nominator shall prepare a manuscript describing the basis for the award to be published in "Geo-Strata" within twelve months following receipt of the award.

Nomination Timing

One copy of each nomination must reach the Geo-Institute office in Reston, Virginia by August 15 for consideration of an award for the following year. The nomination must include a brief description of the projects, the innovative approaches utilized, and the results achieved.

Previous Winners

  • 2000 Alvaro Lopez-Ruis, Ph.D.
  • 2001 Francis B. Gularte, P.E.
  • 2003 Raymond J. Krizek, Ph.D., P.E.
  • 2004 Donald A. Bruce, Ph.D.
  • 2005 Joseph P. Welsh, P.E.
  • 2006 Nathaniel S. Fox, Ph.D., P.E.
  • 2007 Reuben H. Karol, Ph.D.
  • 2008 George A. Munfakh, Ph.D., P.E.
  • 2010 George Burke, P.E., D.GE.
  • 2012 James Collin, Ph.D., D.GE
  • 2013 Rick Deschamps, Ph.D., P.E.