You are not logged in. Login

Bechtel Pipeline Award Rules



Stephen D. Bechtel Pipeline Engineering Award

To recognize outstanding achievements in pipeline engineering, the Bechtel Foundation donated funds to support this award in honor of the contributions made by Stephen D. Bechtel, F.ASCE, to the engineering profession and for his noteworthy advancements in the design and construction of pipelines throughout the world. The award was established by the Board of Direction in October 1970.

I. The award is made annually to a member of the American Society of Civil Engineers who has made a definite contribution to the advancement of pipeline engineering, either in research, planning, design, or construction. Any of these contributions may be made either in the form of papers or other forms of written presentations, or through outstanding performance or specific and noteworthy actions which have served to advance the art, science, and technology of pipeline engineering.

II. Not more than one award of the prize is made each year unless the achievement upon which the award is based is considered to be the contribution of more than one person, such as the joint authorship of a paper. No one shall receive the honor more than once.

III. Each Section and Branch and Technical Division Executive Committee shall be entitled to enter the name of one nominee annually. These names, and supporting documents, will be assembled by the Executive Director and referred to the Executive Committee of the Pipeline Division.

IV. The Executive Committee of the Pipeline Division shall recommend the recipient, if any, to the Executive Committee of the ASCE Board of Direction for final action.

V. The award consists of a plaque and a cash award determined annually by and subject to the approval of the Executive Committee of the ASCE Board of Direction based on the income from the award endowment. If the award is presented for a joint effort, the lead recipient shall receive the plaque and cash prize. Award recipients who are not the lead recipient shall receive only a certificate.

To nominate, submit the following

  • A cover letter, signed by the nominator
  • An Official Award Nomination form  
  • The nominee's CV or biographical information
  • Two or three letters of recommendation

Electronic submissions are encouraged to by November 1. Paper submissions are also accepted, in which case one copy of the complete nomination package should be received by the Honors and Awards Program at the ASCE headquarters: 1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Reston, VA 20191-4400.

Click here for a list of past award recipients