You are not logged in. Login

Bickel Award Rules



John O. Bickel Award

Award for Achievement

This award was established in 1986 by the Board of Direction and endowed by Parsons Brinckerhoff, Inc. in honor of John O. Bickel, a retired partner of the firm, an eminent engineer for rail and vehicular tunnels and for over fifty years an employee of Parsons Brinckerhoff. It is administered by the Construction institute through the Honors and Awards Program.

I.    Nomination for the John O. Bickel Award is open to all authors, who are either Society or Construction Institute members, of papers or articles as defined in Rule III.

II.    The award consists of an appropriate certificate and a cash prize determined annually by and subject to the approval of the Construction Institute Board of Directors based on the income from the award endowment. If the award is presented to a group, the lead recipient shall receive the certificate and cash prize. Award recipients who are not the lead recipient shall receive only a certificate.

III.    The award may be awarded annually to the author or authors of the best original article or paper published by the Society during the specified annual period and not previously published concerning the design and/or construction of a rail or vehicular tunnel. Special consideration may be given to articles or papers dealing with tunnels constructed by the immersed or sunken tube method.

IV.    Articles or papers published in the twelve months ending with June of the year proceeding the year of award are eligible for consideration.

V.    Nominations will be considered by the Construction Institute's Awards Committee. Its recommendation will be made to the Construction Institute's Board of Directors and subsequently ratified by the Executive Committee of the ASCE Board of Direction.

To nominate a paper, submit the following:

Electronic submissions are encouraged to by November 1. Paper submissions are also accepted, in which case one copy of the complete nomination package should be received by the Honors and Awards Program at the ASCE headquarters: 1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Reston, VA 20191-4400.

Click here for list of past award recipients