You are not logged in. Login

Cermak Medal Rules



Jack E. Cermak Medal

This medal was established by the Engineering Mechanics Division and the Structural Engineering Institute to recognize Dr. Jack E. Cermak’s lifetime achievements in the field of wind engineering and industrial aerodynamics. It was instituted by the Board of Direction in 2000. This award is funded by friends and colleagues of Professor Jack Cermak. 

I.    The Medal will be awarded for outstanding contributions to research and/or practice in wind engineering.

II.    The Medal will ordinarily be granted for cumulative distinguished contributions in wind engineering. In exceptional cases, it may be awarded for a single contribution of outstanding merit.

III.    The Medal will be awarded every year at the discretion of the selection committee and will be limited to one individual, unless a nomination is based on work which was a joint effort of a substantial duration. In such cases, duplicate or multiple medals will be tendered only if the balance then available in the award fund is adequate for that purpose.

IV.    The award recipients will be nominated by the members of the Engineering Mechanics Institute and the Structural Engineering Institute for final action by the ASCE Executive Committee. The awards committee will consist of the Engineering Mechanics Institute Advisory Board and three members appointed by the Board of Governors of the Structural Engineering Institute. It will be chaired by the chair of the Engineering Mechanics Institute Advisory Board.

V.    During the year following receipt of the Medal, the recipient(s) will be invited to deliver the Jack E. Cermak Lecture on a topic within the designated subject area of the award, to be presented at one of the ASCE national meetings, conferences, congresses, or conventions.

VI.    The medal will be given without regard for Society membership or nationality.

VII.    No individual shall receive the Medal more than once.

VIII.    The award consists of a gold-plated medal. If the award is presented for a joint effort, the lead recipient shall receive the award. All other recipients shall receive only a certificate.

IX.    Ten years after the establishment of the award, the Executive Committee of the Engineering Mechanics Institute and the Board of Governors of the Structural Engineering Institute may review and propose modifications to the above criteria and rules. 

To nominate, submit the following:

  • A cover letter, signed by the nominator
  • An Official Award Nomination form  
  • The nominee's CV or biographical information
  • Two or three letters of recommendation

Electronic submissions are encouraged to by November 1. Paper submissions are also accepted, in which case one copy of the complete nomination package should be received by the Honors and Awards Program at the ASCE headquarters: 1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Reston, VA 20191-4400.

Click here for a list of past award recipients.