You are not logged in. Login

Freudenthal Medal Rules



Alfred M. Freudenthal Medal

This medal was established and endowed by the Engineering Mechanics Division of ASCE, with gifts presented by the many friends and admirers of Alfred M. Freudenthal, F.ASCE. The Medal was officially instituted by action of the Board of Direction on November 1-2, 1975.

I.    The award is known as the Alfred M. Freudenthal Medal.

II.    The award consists of a bronze medal presented to an individual in recognition of distinguished achievement in safety and reliability studies applicable to any branch of civil engineering.

III.    Age, nationality, and Society membership shall not be considerations in making the award.

IV.    The award is normally made every two years on the basis of nominations submitted by November 1. It may be omitted at the discretion of the Award Committee.

V.    Nominees not selected in a given year will be held over for consideration through the next selection cycle. At the end of the second cycle, nominees not chosen will no longer be eligible for consideration. Nominators who wish for their candidate to be considered for another two-cycle period must produce a new nomination package.

VI.    The award committee shall consist of the members of the Advisory Board of the Engineering Mechanics Division, whose duty shall be to recommend nominees for formal action by the Executive Committee of the ASCE Board of Direction.

To nominate for achievement, submit the following

Electronic submissions are encouraged to by November 1. Paper submissions are also accepted, in which case one copy of the complete nomination package should be received by the Honors and Awards Program at the ASCE headquarters: 1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Reston, VA 20191-4400.

 Click here for a list of past award recipients