You are not logged in. Login

Hoffman Award Rules


Phillip R. Hoffman Award

This award was officially instituted by action of the Board of Direction in October 1987 through the generosity of Nevenka Hoffman, widow of Phillip R. Hoffman.

Mr. Hoffman, who received the Rickey Medal in 1981, was associated with the Los Angeles Department of Water and Power for many years. He had special interest in the design and development of hydroelectric generation-pumped storage. It is hoped that this memorial award will encourage others to concern themselves with this field.

I.    The award may be made annually to an engineer who has made a definite contribution to the field of hydroelectric generation-pumped storage. The contribution can be in the form of a published paper or performance in the field.

II.    The Executive Committee of the Energy Division shall recommend the recipient to the Executive Committee of the ASCE Board of Direction for final action.

III.    The award shall consist of a plaque.

To nominate, submit the following:

  • A cover letter, signed by the nominator
  • An Official Award Nomination form  
  • The nominee's CV or biographical information
  • Two or three letters of recommendation

Electronic submissions are encouraged to awards@asce.orgby November 1. Paper submissions are also accepted, in which case one copy of the complete nomination package should be received by the Honors and Awards Program at the ASCE headquarters: 1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Reston, VA 20191-4400.

Click here for a list of past award recipients