You are not logged in. Login

Hydraulic Structures Medal Rules



Hydraulic Structures Medal

The Hydraulic Structures Medal was instituted in 1983 by Fred W. Blaisdell, F.ASCE, to honor the contributions of Melvin M. Culp, M.ASCE, and William O. Ree, F.ASCE, for their conception and development of generalized procedures for the design and application of hydraulic structures, and for their exemplary ethical and professional standards. The medal was endowed by additional gifts from friends and professional associates.

I.    The award will be given without restrictions as to Society membership.

II.    The award shall consist of a gold-plated medal and cash prize determined annually by and subject to the approval of the Executive Committee of the Board of Direction, with the advice of the Governing Board of the Environmental and Water Resources Institute, based on the income from the award fund.

III.    The award may be made annually to an individual for significant contributions to the advancement of the art and science of hydraulic engineering as applied to hydraulic structures. The selection committee may consider a candidate’s papers published in the Society’s technical journals, innovative application of hydraulic principles, individual achievements, or distinguished or meritorious service. A contribution of fundamental principles or design criteria having general application to multiple structures and usefulness over wide geographical areas is given preferred consideration over a contribution specific to a single structure or limited area. In the case of a paper, the coverage and presentation shall be sufficiently complete that the subject matter can be readily evaluated by the practitioner and immediately and confidently applied in practice. The subject matter must completely cover a complete structure or a complete element of a structure. Theoretical and mathematical models must be verified by physical models or physical data. Clarity of expression, readability, and form of presentation are also considered.

IV.    The award is presented at a national meeting of the Environmental and Water Resources Institute.

V.    Responsibility for nominations and recommendation of the winner of the Hydraulic Structures Medal is vested in the Environmental and Water Resources Institute, who shall make their recommendation by February 15 of each year for ratification by the Executive Committee of the ASCE Board of Direction.
To nominate, submit the following

Electronic submissions are encouraged to by October 1. Paper submissions are also accepted, in which case one copy of the complete nomination package should be received by the Honors and Awards Program at the ASCE headquarters: 1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Reston, VA 20191-4400.

Click here for a list of past award recipients