Member Login Menu

Daniel W. Mead Prize for Students

Nomination Deadline: March 1st

The prize was established and endowed in 1939 by Daniel W. Mead, Hon.M.ASCE, a Society past president.  The contest provides an opportunity for alert young civil engineers to further their professional development and gain national attention.

Award: Up to five winners will be chosen.  First place will receive a plaque.  Other winners will receive certificates. 

Read the 2016 Award Winning Paper

2017 Topic:  "Is it ethical for university engineering faculty to teach technical subject matter to engineering students without obtaining professional licensure?"

Some states require this (such as Idaho) while some states do not.  How does that affect the success of a university program?  Should all 50 states be consistent with this?  Should there be additional routes to obtain professional licensure, such as through research and a doctorate degree?  

Entries for the contest shall be limited to one paper from each ASCE or AEI Student Organization and must be submitted through the Faculty Advisor.

Questions should be directed to  ASCE Student Services


    I.   The Daniel W. Mead Prize for Students may be awarded annually on the basis of a paper on professional ethics.  Each year the specific topic   of the contest for the forthcoming year shall be selected by the Committee on Student Members for the Student Award.

    II.   Members of Student Organizations of the Society who are in good standing at the time their papers are submitted are eligible for the contest, unless they have previously received the national award for which they are competing.

    III.  Papers for the national contests shall (a) be limited to one paper from each Student Organization; (b) not exceed 2,000 words in length; (c) be written by only one person; and (d) not have previously been published in other than school or Society publications.

    IV.  The Committee on Student Members shall review each submission and recommend the top five student papers as Society finalists, of which one may be selected as the national winner for approval by the Executive Committee.

    V.  All finalists shall receive an appropriate certificate recognizing their achievements.  If there is a national winner, they shall receive a wall plaque rather than a certificate.

    Submission instructions:

    A completed submission will consist of a single .pdf file  containing:

    1. Cover letter, from the Faculty Advisor stating the name, ASCE/AEI member ID number, mailing address, phone number, and e-mail address for the paper's author.
    2. The paper being submitted.

    The name of the file shall follow this format:

    Mead Student Prize -  Author's Last Name - Name of University.pdf

    Submissions should be sent to  and must be received on or before 11:59 pm (EST) March 1.


    Award Recipients

    Danielle G. Neighbour, S.M.ASCE

    Christopher D. Unzicker, S.M.ASCE

    Trevor A. Jones, S.M.ASCE

    Ameeta A. Kunnath, S.M.ASCE

    Jay R. Pastor, S.M.ASCE

    All Recipients