You are not logged in. Login

The Raymond Allen Jones Chair in Civil Engineering, College of Engineering Distinguished Professor, Georgia Institute of Technology.

Dr. Ellingwood received his undergraduate and graduate education at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He is internationally recognized as an authority on structural load modeling, reliability and risk analysis of engineered facilities, and as a leader in the technical development and implementation of probability based codified design standards for buildings and other structures. His research and teaching activities have included the development of safety and serviceability criteria for design, structural load analysis, abnormal loads, progressive collapse and the response of structures to fires, probabilistic risk analysis and stochastic mechanics, areas in which he has authored over 400 papers and reports. As Administrator of the Secretariat of the American National Standard Committee A58 (now ASCE/SEI Standard Committee 7) on Minimum Design Loads for Buildings and Other Structures from 1977 - 1984, he directed the development of the probability-based load criteria for strength design that now appear in ASCE/SEI Standard 7 on Minimum Design Loads, the AISC Specification, ACI Standard 318, and both Model Building Codes. Dr. Ellingwood is former Vice-Chair of the ASCE Standard Committee 7 on Minimum Design Loads and for many years chaired its subcommittee on load combinations. He served on ASCE Standard Committee 16 on LRFD of Engineered Wood Construction and recently has played a central role in developing the new ASCE/SEI Standard for LRFD of Pultruded FRP Structures. He is past-chair of the ASCE/SEI Technical Activities Division, and past-president of the Maryland Section of ASCE. He also is a long-term member of the American Institute of Steel Construction Specification Committee. He is Editor of Structural Safety, and serves on five other editorial boards. He has held numerous leadership positions in ASCE and other professional societies, and his research and professional service have garnered numerous awards from ASCE (where he has twice received the Norman Medal), AISC and other organizations. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, and a Distinguished Member of ASCE.

Ph.D., P.E., N.A.E., F.SEI, Dist. M. ASCE
SEI Fellow Since 2012