You are not logged in. Login

Richard O. Albright is a consulting engineer in Carmel, Indiana. He received his B.S.C.E. degree from Purdue University, and following two years of active duty in the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in the U.S. and in Korea, he returned and earned his M.S.C.E. degree at Purdue. While employed by several consulting engineering firms in Indiana he designed concrete and earth dams for water supply and recreation area projects. He also designed concrete structures for waste treatment and water treatment facilities. He was also involved in the investigation and correction of deteriorated concrete in precast and cast-in-place parking structures.

He was employed by the Portland Cement Association as a Field Engineer in Indiana and in Illinois providing assistance to designers, to specifiers, and to constructors of concrete structures; and eventually became Managing Engineer for the PCA in central Indiana and central Illinois. He continued these activities as the founding director of the Indiana Concrete Council following the close of PCA activities in Indiana. Following a period with the structural engineering firm of ARSEE Engineers, he started his own practice in 1999. He initiated the forming of the Indiana Chapter of the American Concrete Institute, served on its organizing committee, and was Chapter Secretary and newsletter editor for ten years. He was named a Distinguished Member in 2004. At the national level he was the first chairman of ACI 330, and is a member of ACI 224, ACI 302, ACI 325, and ACI 360. He is a member of ASTM C-09.

He has served ASCE as president of the Indiana Section and of its Northwest and Metropolitan Indianapolis Branches. He was Director of District 9 and Vice President of Zone II. He was chairman of the Committee on Policy Review and the Committee on Professional Conduct. He was a member of the Excom of the Structural Engineering Division and of the Organizing Committee for SEI. He served SEI as a member of the first Excom and as the first chairman of the Membership Committee.

SEI Fellow Since 2012