Member Login Menu

Margaret S. Petersen Award

Nomination Deadline: October 1st


For an outstanding woman in environmental and water resources


This award was established to honor Margaret S. Petersen, P.E., D.WRE, Dist.M.ASCE, a pioneer in hydraulics and water resources engineering. The funds for the award were obtained through the solicitation of gifts from her colleagues, admirers and friends.  It was instituted by the Board of Direction on October 8, 2013.


I. The award may be made annually to a female member of ASCE or EWRI (except Student Member) who has demonstrated exemplary service to the water resources and environmental science and engineering community.

II. Criteria may include EWRI leadership through standing or task committee participation; university or industry excellence in the water resource, hydraulics, or environmental-related science and engineering profession.

III. The recipient is strongly encouraged to serve as an ambassador for the award by promoting it at her university, engineering alumni group(s) and/or via her employer. The recipient is also encouraged to sponsor a female student to the EWRI Congress and/or to mentor a female student at a local university.
IV. Not more than one award may be presented in any given year. No one shall receive the honor more than once.

V. The Award Selection Committee shall recommend a nominee for approval by the Executive Committee of the ASCE Board of Direction.  The Award Selection Committee shall be composed of two (2) members of the EWRI Education and Research Council, two (2) members of the EWRI Emerging and Innovative Technologies Committee, two (2) at-large members, and two (2) recent award recipients; all must be EWRI members. The Institute Operations ExCom officer, who is also a member of the EWRI Institute Awards Committee, shall serve as the chair and organizer of the Award Selection Committee. The chair shall vote for the award recipient only during instances when the vote between the other Award Selection Committee members is a tie.

VI. The award will consist of a crystal vase, suitably inscribed with the name of the recipient and the year of award, and a cash prize, determined annually by and subject to the approval of the Executive Committee of the ASCE Board of Direction based on the income from the award endowment.


To nominate, submit the following:

  • A third party letter of nomination
  • An Official Award Nomination form
  • Nominee's personal statement attesting to how they meet the criteria for the award (not to exceed 1,000 words)
  • The nominee's CV or biographical information
  • A minimum of three, maximum of five, letters of recommendation

You can submit your nomination electronically to , or by mail to:

ASCE Honors and Awards
1801 Alexander Bell Drive
Reston, VA 20191


Award Recipients

Karen C. Kabbes, P.E., D.WRE, ENV SP, F.ASCE

Jeanne M. VanBriesen, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE

Christine A. Shoemaker, Ph.D., NAE, Dist.M.ASCE

Peggy A. Johnson, Ph.D., M.ASCE

M. Katherine Banks, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, F.ASCE

All Recipients