Login Menu

Collingwood Prize

Nomination Deadline: February 1st

The Collingwood Prize was instituted and endowed in 1894 by Francis Collingwood, past Secretary of ASCE. It is administered by the Committee on Younger Members through the Honors and Awards Program.


I.    Nomination for the prize is restricted to Affiliate Members, Associate Members, and Members of the Society who were 35 years of age or less at the time the paper was submitted in essentially its final form. To protect the integrity of authorship, only persons who have significantly contributed to the research or project and paper preparation shall be listed as co-authors.  Papers with co-authors over 35 years of age will be disqualified.

II.    The prize consists of a plaque to be presented at the ASCE Annual Conference. 

III.    The prize may be awarded annually to the author or authors of a paper (1) describing an engineering work with which the author(s) have been directly connected, or (2) recording investigations contributing to engineering knowledge to which the author(s) have contributed some essential part, and (3) containing a rational digest of results. Any mathematical treatment must show immediate adaptability to professional practice. Accuracy of language and excellence of style are factors in the award. The Committee on Younger Members shall recommend a winner to the ASCE Executive Committee for final action.

IV.    Papers published in a print issue of an ASCE journal during the twelve-month period ending with June 30 of the year preceding the year of award are eligible. Individual technical papers produced as an appendix to a report of an ASCE committee and published during the twelve-month period ending with June 30 of the year preceding the year of the award are also eligible.

V.    Active members of CYM or its active Corresponding Members shall not be eligible for the award.

To nominate, submit the following on CD:

ASCE Honors and Awards 
1801 Alexander Bell Drive
Reston, VA 20191

Award Recipients

Andrew J. Gastineau, EIT, A.M.ASCE; Steven F. Wojtkiewicz, Jr., Ph.D., M.ASCE; and Arturo E. Schultz, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE

Dimitrios Zekkos, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE; Mohammad Kabalan, EIT, A.M.ASCE; and Michael M. Flanagan, P.E., M.ASCE

Ionnis Brilakis, Ph.D., M.ASCE; Stephanie German, S.M.ASCE; and Zhenhua Zhu, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE

Juan Felipe Pulido, P.E., M.ASCE

Paul W. Richards, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE

All Recipients