Login Menu

Walter L. Huber Civil Engineering Research Prizes

Nomination Deadline: October 1st

In July 1946, the Board of Direction authorized annual awards on recommendation by the Society’s Committee on Research to stimulate research in civil engineering. In October 1964, Mrs. Alberta Reed Huber endowed these prizes in honor of her husband, Walter L. Huber, Past President, ASCE.


I.    Research Prizes are to be awarded to members of the Society in any grade for notable achievements in research related to civil engineering. Preference shall be given to younger members (generally under 40 years of age) of early accomplishment who can be expected to continue fruitful careers in research. No one shall receive a Research Prize more than once.

II.    Nominations may be submitted by anyone and must be sent directly to the Honors and Awards Program office by October 1.  The Honors and Awards Program office will transmit nominations to the appropriate ASCE Organizational Entity.

a.  Each ASCE Organizational Entity may recommend for review by the Huber Selection Committee up to three candidates.  Documentation shall be limited to ten pages plus the candidate nomination form.

b.  Only those candidate nominations received by the Honors and Awards Program office from the ASCE Organizational Entity by January 15 will be considered by the Committee on Technical Advancement (CTA) Awards Committee on the Walter L. Huber Civil Engineering Research Prizes.

III.    The CTA Awards Committee on the Walter L. Huber Civil Engineering Research Prizes shall review the ASCE Organizational Entity endorsed candidates and make recommendations to the Executive Committee of the ASCE Board of Direction. The Award Selection Committee shall be composed of two representatives from CTA and representatives from each Institute. Members shall serve three-year overlapping terms. The chair shall be the senior CTA member. To the extent possible, the committee shall include both practitioners and educators.

IV.    Each award shall consist of a suitable certificate and a cash prize determined annually by and subject to the approval of the Executive Committee of the ASCE Board of Direction based on the income from the award endowment.

V.    Each year, the number of prizes shall not exceed five. The Award Committee shall present its nominations for final action to the Executive Committee of the ASCE Board of Direction. 

To nominate, submit the following:

You can submit your nomination electronically to awards@asce.org , or by mail to:

ASCE Honors and Awards
1801 Alexander Bell Drive
Reston, VA 20191

Award Recipients

Scott J. Brandenberg, Ph.D., M.ASCE; Faisal Hossain, Ph.D., M.ASCE; Vineet R. Kamat, Ph.D., M.ASCE; Yanfeng Ouyang, Ph.D., M.ASCE; and Ming Ye, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE

Alexandre M. Bayen, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE; Larry A. Fahnestock, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE; William J. Likos, Ph.D., M.ASCE; Jerome P. Lynch, Ph.D., M.ASCE; and Enrique R. Vivoni, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE

Jason T. DeJong, Ph.D., M.ASCE; Laurie A. Garrow, Ph.D., M.ASCE; Jaehong Kim, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE; Kimberly Kurtis, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE; and Patrick J. Lynett, Ph.D., M.ASCE

Christian Hellmich, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE; Scott M. Olson, Ph.D., ANDP.E., M.ASCE; Santiago Pujol, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE; Patrick M. Reed, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE; and Julie B. Zimmerman, Ph.D., M.ASCE

Ahmet H. Aydilek, Ph.D., M.ASCE; Casey Brown, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE; Eric M.V. Hoek, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE; Ertugrul Taciroglu, Ph.D., M.ASCE; and W. Jason Weiss, P.E., A.M.ASCE

All Recipients