Member Login Menu

Surveying and Mapping Award

Nomination Deadline: November 1st

This award was established in October 1969 following the solicitation of funds from individual engineers and engineering firms.


I.    The award is known as the Surveying and Mapping Award.

II.    The award is made annually to the individual who has made a definite contribution during the year to the advancement of surveying and mapping either in teaching, writing, research, planning, design, construction or management, these contributions being made in the form of papers or other written presentations, or in some instances through notable performance, long years of service, or specific actions which have served to advance surveying and mapping.

III.    Membership in the Society is not a requirement for consideration.

IV.    Not more than one award is made each year unless the achievement upon which the award is based is considered to be the contribution of more than one person, such as joint authorship of a paper.

V.    The Utility Engineering and Surveying Institute Board of Governors  shall make a recommendation to the Executive Committee of the ASCE Board of Direction for selection of the winner of the award.

VI.    The award shall consist of a plaque. If the award is presented for a joint effort, the lead recipient shall receive the plaque. All other recipients shall receive only a certificate. 

To nominate, submit the following:

  • A cover letter, signed by the nominator
  • An Official Award Nomination form
  • The nominee's CV or biographical information
  • Two or three letters of recommendation

You can submit your nomination electronically to Awards & Honors, or by mail to:

ASCE Honors and Awards
1801 Alexander Bell Drive
Reston, VA 20191

Award Recipients

Ron Singh, R.L.S., M.ASCE

Steven D. Johnson, Ph.D., L.S., M.ASCE

Edward M. Mikhail, Ph.D.

Robert J. Schultz, P.E., P.L.S., F.ASCE

Carolyn J. Merry, Ph.D., M.ASCE

All Recipients