EMI 2022 STUDENT COMPETITION WINNERS

RECOGNIZED AT THE EMI 2022 CONFERENCE ON JUNE 2 DURING THE AWARDS BANQUET

COMPUTATIONAL MECHANICS STUDENT PAPER/POSTER COMPETITION

1st Place: **Preetam Tarafder**, Johns Hopkins University

Paper titled: "Cohesive Zone Phase Field Model for Electromechanical Fracture in Nonuniform

Piezoelectric Composites"

2nd Place: Shruti Motiwale, The University of Texas at Austin

Paper titled: "Material Models for Fibrous Elastomeric Biological and Bio-inspired Materials"

3rd Place: Mehdi Jokar, Purdue University

Paper titled: "Structural Simulations via Finite Element Network Analysis"

DYNAMICS COMMITTEE STUDENT PAPER COMPETITION

Sponsored by: GeoSIG Ltd and MTS

1st Place: Kostas Kalfas, Southern Methodist University

Paper titled: "Estimation of the design parameters of pressurized sand dampers from experiments"

2nd Place: **Daniz Teymouri**, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Paper titled: "Data-Driven Reduced-Order Modeling and Response Reconstruction through A Bayesian

Expectation-Maximization (BEM) Framework"

3rd Place: **Maria Katsidoniotaki**, Columbia University

Paper titled: "Data-driven parsimonious modeling and analysis of dynamic cerebral Autoregulation via

diffusion maps"

ELASTICITY COMMITTEE STUDENT PAPER COMPETITION

Winner: Jian Song, University of Colorado Boulder

Paper titled: "Time-Domain Linear Sampling Method for In-situ Ultrasonic Imaging"

GRANULAR MATERIALS COMMITTEE STUDENT VIDEO COMPETITION

Winner, Computational Category: Abhishek Paul, Purdue University

Paper title: "Continuum modeling of corn stover feedstock through a compression feed screw"

Winner, *Computational Category*: **Noor Mili**, New Jersey Institute of Technology Paper title: "*Computational analysis of tapped density evolution in granular beds*"

Winner, Experimental Category: Dawa Seo, Northwestern University

Paper title: "Experimental analysis of shape distribution of fragments under particle breakage with 3D X-

ray tomography"

MODELING INELASTICITY & MULTISCALE BEHAVIOR COMMITTEE STUDENT PAPER COMPETITION

Winner: Saikat Dan, Johns Hopkins University

Paper titled: "Finite deformation cohesive zone phase field model for crack evolution in multi-phase piezocomposites"

Runner Up: Rogelio Muñeton-Lopez, University of Missouri

Paper titled: "A Phase-Field Formulation for Cohesive Fracture Based on the Park-Paulino-Roesler (PPR) Cohesive Fracture Model"

Runner Up: Ozge Ozbayram, Johns Hopkins University

Paper titled: "Effect of Microstructure and Surface Notch Geometry on Fatigue Crack Nucleation in Titanium Alloys"

POROMECHANICS COMMITTEE STUDENT POSTER COMPETITION

First place: Xiang Li, Northwestern University

Poster: "Coupled Flow-deformation Analyses in Creeping Landslides Catastrophic Acceleration"

Runner-up: Sansit Patnaik, Purdue University

Poster: "Role of microstructure in deformation of porous solids"

Runner-up: Ritaja Ray, Northwestern University

Poster: "Modeling the behavior of dry and saturated crushable granular media subjected to varying

loading rates"

PROBABILISTIC METHODS COMMITTEE STUDENT PAPER COMPETITION

Winner: Zhiheng Wang, University of Southern California

Paper titled: "A Polynomial Chaos Formalism for Sensitivity and Reliability Analysis"

STABILITY COMMITTEE STUDENT PAPER COMPETITION

Winner: **Benjamin Terry**, University of Washington

Paper titled: "Exploring the Interaction Between Different Instability Phenomena in Vertical Axis Turbine Blades"

Runner Up: Garima Sharma, Kansas State University

Paper titled: "Experimental Vs. Numerical Stability Assessment of Anisotropic Laminated Web Cantilever Beams Under Tip Force"

Runner Up: Ed Wheatcroft, University of Bristol

Paper titled: "A Building-Block Approach to the Conceptual Design of Adaptive Structures"

STRUCTURAL HEALTH MONITORING AND CONTROL COMMITTEE STUDENT PAPER COMPETITION

Sponsored by: Simpson Gumpertz & Heger Inc. (SGH)

1st Place: Jingxiao Liu, Stanford University

Paper titled: "Telecommunication Fiber Cables into Distributed Acoustic Sensors for Vibration-Based Bridge Health Monitoring"

2nd Place: **Yu-Ting Huang**, Purdue University

Paper titled: "Toward Crowdsourcing-based Condition Assessment of Roads Using Deep Learning and Data Fusion"

3rd Place: **Brandon J. Perry**, Colorado State University

Paper titled: "Measurements of the 3-Component (3C) Dynamic Displacements of Full-Scale Structures using an Unmanned Aerial System (UAS)"