Skip to main content

Uncrewed Aircraft Systems Committee


To develop a roadmap and serve as a forum for the exchange of ideas and knowledge among users, researchers and engineers from academia, industry and government with interest in the development of Uncrewed Aircraft Systems (UAS) technologies and their applications to transportation management. The committee will also serve as a forum with resources representing airport operators, industry, academia, consultants and federal government - a collective voice with respect to policy and regulation.

Exchanges include conferences, workshops, special sessions in conferences, and publications to promote active discussions on relevant, existing and emerging UAS applications. The roadmap may include potential uses, policy challenges (i.e., no-fly zones and remote identification), technical challenges, potential benefits, research needs, implementation needs and timeline, and so on.

Join the Uncrewed Aircraft Systems Committee
ICTDP23 Austin Skyline - Hero
Key activities & initiatives

International Conference on Transportation & Development

June 14 – June 17, 2023 | Austin, Texas

ASCE's flagship conference in transportation and development, co-located with ASCE's longstanding specialty conference on pavement engineering for an invaluable experience of two conferences in one.

Learn more
Portrait of Halil Ceylan
Meet the Chair

Halil Ceylan, Ph.D., Dist.M.ASCE

Halil Ceylan serves as the Chair of T&DI's UAS Committee. He is currently a full Professor in the Department of Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering (CCEE) at Iowa State University (ISU) as well as the Director of Program for Sustainable Pavement Engineering and Research (PROSPER) at the Institute for Transportation (InTrans). He also serves as the ISU Site Director for the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) Center of Excellence (COE) Partnership to Enhance General Aviation Safety, Accessibility and Sustainability, or PEGASAS program.

The PEGASAS partnership, which was established in 2012, is led by researchers at Purdue University and includes ISU, the Ohio State University, Georgia Institute of Technology, Florida Institute of Technology and Texas A&M University as core members. Dr. Ceylan serves as the Chair of the ASCE G-I Pavement Committee and is actively involved in several ASCE and TRB Committees. Dr. Ceylan has over 20 years of experience in pavement systems engineering. 


  • Halil Ceylan, Ph.D., C.Eng, Dist.M.ASCE
  • Blaine Matthew Wruck, P.E., M.ASCE
  • Edward Bartels, M.ASCE
  • Benjamin A Coifman,
    Associate Committee Member
  • Surya Sarat Chandra Congress, A.M.ASCE
    Associate Committee Member
  • Shirley J. Dyke, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE
    Associate Committee Member
  • Brett Hoffstadt, EIT, A.M.ASCE
    Associate Committee Member
  • David Scott Hurwitz, Ph.D., EIT, M.ASCE
    Associate Committee Member
  • David Alan Lattanzi, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE
    Associate Committee Member
  • Michael James Olsen, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE
    Associate Committee Member
  • Peddinti Pranav, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE
    Associate Committee Member
  • Anand Jagadeesh Puppala, Ph.D., P.E., F.ICE, D.GE, F.ASCE
    Associate Committee Member
  • Zhigang Shen, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE
  • Yelda Turkan, Ph.D., Aff.M.ASCE
    Associate Committee Member
  • Torgeir Vaa,
    Associate Committee Member
ASCE dots
promo 1 promo 2 promo 3

Join ASCE for the professional support and growth that you won't find anywhere else

ASCE gives you the best professional and technical resources.

Join now