Member Login Menu

Charles Martin Duke Lifeline Earthquake Engineering Award

Nomination Deadline: November 1st

This award was established by the Technical Council on Lifeline Earthquake Engineering, now the Infrastructure Resilience Division (IRD), to honor Charles Martin Duke for his pioneering contributions in lifeline earthquake engineering. The funds for the award were obtained through the solicitation of gifts from the many students, colleagues, admirers and friends of Charles Martin Duke.  It was instituted by the Board of Direction in April 1990.


  1. The award will be made annually to an individual who has made a definite contribution to the advancement of lifeline earthquake engineering. Contributions may be made either in the form of papers or other written presentations, or through outstanding performance or specific and noteworthy actions which have served to advance the art, science and technology of lifeline earthquake engineering.
  2. Membership in the Society is not a requirement for consideration.
  3. Not more than two independent awards of the prize will be made each year, unless the achievement upon which the award is based is considered to be the joint contribution by more than one person, such as the joint authorship of a paper. No one shall receive the honor more than once.
  4. The nomination of the potential recipient shall be made prior to or on November 1 of the year the prize is to be awarded.
  5. Nomination for the award should be submitted by a written letter accompanied by at least one page vita of the nominee outlining his/her accomplishments in reference to the award.
  6. The Charles Martin Duke Award Committee shall consist of the three immediate past chairs of the Executive Committee of the Infrastructure Resilience Division (IRD), whose duty shall be to recommend nominees for formal action by the Executive Committee of the ASCE Board of Direction.
  7. The award will consist of a plaque, suitably inscribed with the name of the recipient and the circumstances of the award and a specially engraved lapel pin. When two individual awards are made, each winner shall receive a plaque and lapel pin. If the award is for a joint effort, the lead winner shall receive the plaque and lapel pin. All other winners shall receive only a certificate.

To nominate, submit the following:

  • A cover letter, signed by the nominator
  • An Official Award Nomination form
  • The nominee's CV or biographical information
  • Two or three letters of recommendation (max)

You can submit your nomination electronically to, or by mail to:

ASCE Honors and Awards
1801 Alexander Bell Drive
Reston, VA 20191

Award Recipients

Craig A. Davis, Ph.D., P.E., G.E., M.ASCE

Rachel Davidson, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE

Donald B. Ballantyne, P.E., M.ASCE

Ian G. Buckle, Ph.D., M.ASCE

Reginald DesRoches, Ph.D., M.ASCE

All Recipients