Member Login Menu

EMI and ASCE 2016 Award Recipients

Wednesday, April 13, 2016

2016 Maurice A. Biot Medal
Ronaldo I. Borja, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE

Stanford University

Ronaldo Borja portraitProf. Borja is the 2016 Maurice A. Biot Medal recipient for " his significant contributions to the development of theoretical and computational framework for saturated and unsaturated porous media, and for bringing to light the role of finite deformation and heterogeneity on the localization of deformation of porous materials ."
View Prof. Borja's Bio

2016 Jack E. Cermak Medal 
Qiusheng Li, Ph.D.

City University of Hong Kong (CityU)

Qiusheng Li portraitProf. Li is the 2016 Jack E. Cermak Medal recipient for " his many contributions to wind engineering that range from fundamental to applied research ." 
View Prof. Li's Bio

2016 Alfred M. Freudenthal Medal
Bruce R. Ellingwood, Ph.D., P.E., F.SEI, Dist.M.ASCE, NAE

Colorado State University

Bruce Ellingwood portraitProf. Ellingwood is the 2016 Alfred M. Freudenthal Medal recipient for " the unique role that he has played in introducing concepts of probability, statistics and structural reliability to structural engineering and for transforming structural reliability from academic research specialty into a mainstream of structural engineering practice ." 
View Prof. Ellingwood's Bio

2016 Nathan M. Newmark Medal
Mircea D. Grigoriu, Ph.D., F.EMI, F.ASCE

Cornell University

Mircea Grigoriu portraitProf. Grigoriu is the 2016 Nathan M. Newmark Medal recipient for " original theoretical contributions to uncertainty quantification and their applications to earthquake/wind engineering and material science ."  
View Prof. Grigoriu's Bio

2016 Robert H. Scanlan Medal
Yukio Tamura, D.Eng., F.EMI, M.ASCE

Tokyo Polytechnic University

Yukio Tamura portraitProf. Tamura is the 2016 Robert H. Scanlan Medal recipient for " fundamental contributions to mathematical modeling, quantification, and analysis of wind effects on buildings and structures ."
View Prof. Tamura's Bio

2016 Theodore von Karman Medal
Ares J. Rosakis, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE

California Institute of Technology (Caltech) 

Ares J. Rosakis portraitProf. Rosakis is the 2016 Theodore von Karman Medal recipient for " discovering several fundamental physical phenomena in dynamic fracture of heterogeneous materials and interfaces at various length and time scales ."  
View Prof. Rosakis' Bio

2016 Zdeněk P. Bažant Medal for Failure and Damage Prevention 
Professor Subra Suresh, Sc.D., NAE
Carnegie Mellon University

subrasuresh-picProfessor Subra Suresh, Sc.D., NAE, is the 2016 Zdeněk P. Bažant Medal for Failure and Damage Prevention recipient for " his pioneering work on failure and damage prevention of metallic and composite materials under cyclic and other loadings ."
View Prof. Suresh's Bio

2016 EMI Leonardo da Vinci Award
Matthieu Vandamme, Ph.D., AM.ASCE

Laboratoire Navier, Ecole des Ponts et Chaussées

Matthieu Vandamme portraitProf. Vandamme is the 2016 EMI Leonardo da Vinci Award recipient for " his Mechanics-Based, Science-Driven Innovation in poromechanics relevant for Civil Engineering Applications in the service of the big societal problems: global warming, infrastructure sustainability and energy storage ."
View Prof. Vandamme's Bio .