Member Login Menu

2016 Zdeněk P. Bažant Medal for Failure and Damage Prevention Recipient

Thursday, April 14, 2016

Professor Subra Suresh, Sc.D., NAE is the First Recipient of the Zdeněk P. Bažant Medal for Failure and Damage Prevention

Subra Suresh portrait At its April 12 meeting the Executive Committee of the ASCE Board of Direction approved Professor Subra Suresh , President of Carnegie Mellon University, as the winner of the Zdenek P. Bazant Medal for Failure and Damage Prevention Medal " for his pioneering work on failure and damage prevention of metallic and composite materials under cyclic and other loadings ."  

This award was established by the ASCE Board of Direction on January 8, 2015 to honor Zdeněk P. Bažant, Ph.D., S.E., NAS, NAE, Hon.M.ASCE, a recognized expert in the field of analytical and computational modeling of failure of quasi-brittle materials. It may be presented in even-numbered years to an individual whose career demonstrates significant contributions to the engineering science of failure and damage prevention in form of a scientific paper, book, patent or other forms of scientific invention. The award selection committee is appointed by EMI and is composed of the chair of the EMI Awards Committee, and four members from EMI and the U.S. National Committee on Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (USNCTAM).

The award will be presented at the banquet and award ceremony on May 24 during the EMI 2016/PMC 2016 conference at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee.