Member Login Menu

EMI Board Members Receive ASME Awards

Monday, July 10, 2017

Congratulations to current board members Professor José Andrade and Professor Jiun-Shyan Chen (President) on receiving the following awards from the Applied Mechanics Division (AMD) of ASME:

Professor Jiun-Shyan Chen
2017 Ted Belytschko Applied Mechanics Division Award

The Applied Mechanics Award was established in 1988 and renamed the Ted Belytschko Applied Mechanics Award in 2008. This Award is given to an outstanding individual for significant contributions in the practice of engineering mechanics; contributions may result from innovation, research, design, leadership or education.

Professor José Andrade
2017 Thomas J. R. Hughes Young Investigator Award

The Young Investigator Award was established in 1998 and renamed the Thomas J.R. Hughes Young Investigator Award in 2008. The Award recognizes special achievements in Applied Mechanics for researchers under the age of 41.