Member Login Menu

2019 Society and Institute Awards

Thursday, June 13, 2019

EMI, the Engineering Mechanics Institute of the American Society of Civil Engineers, is pleased to announce the 2019 winners of the prestigious Society and Institute awards.

Maurice A. Biot Medal

Younane Abousleiman pic
Younane N. Abousleiman, Ph.D., F.EMI, Larry W. Brummett/ONEOK Chair, Professor at the University of Oklahoma.
"For his pioneering recognition of the value of poromechanics for industrial applications; his ground-breaking closed-form poromechanical solutions and corresponding relevant experiments, that have irreversibly transformed the oil and gas industry; and his decade-long commitment to nurture the poromechanics community honoring Maurice A. Biot."

George W. Housner Structural Control and Monitoring Medal

Dan Frangopol headshot
Dan M. Frangopol, Sc.D., P.E., F. EMI, F. SEI, Dist.M.ASCE, Fazlur R. Khan Endowed Chair, Professor of Structural Engineering and Architecture at Lehigh University. 
"For pioneering contributions to the integration of structural health monitoring and control in life-cycle reliability-based assessment, design and optimization of civil and marine infrastructure."

Raymond D. Mindlin Medal

Roberto Ballarini pic
Roberto Ballarini, Ph.D., P.E., F.EMI, F.ASCE, Thomas and Laura Hsu Professor and Chair, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, at the University of Houston. 
"For the application of elasticity and fracture mechanics to problems in numerous disciplines and at multiple length scales, and for seminal contributions to experiments for measuring the mechanical properties of materials and structures at the micro- and nano-scales."

Masanobu Shinozuka Medal

James Beck pic
James Leslie Beck, Ph.D., F.EMI, M.ASCE, George W. Housner Professor of Engineering and Applied Science, Emeritus at the California Institute of Technology. 
"For his original contributions to subset simulation in reliability analysis of stochastic systems, a powerful technique that allows probabilistic estimation of rare events; for his pioneering work in developing technologies for machine learning in earthquake engineering applications."

Nathan M. Newmark Medal
Bojan Guzina

Bojan Guzina, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE , Shimizu Professor, Department of Civil, Environmental & Geo- Engineering, University of Minnesota. For " seminal work on theoretical and computational methods related to wave propagation and inverse scattering problems, with applications to the imaging of biological and engineered systems. "

Theodore von Karman Medal

Yonggang Huang pic
Yonggang Huang, Ph.D., NAE, M.ASCE, Walter P. Murphy Professor, Dept. of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Northwestern University. 
"For his seminal work on the mechanics theories for microindentation hardness, deterministic 3D assembly, and stretchable electronics."

Walter L. Huber Civil Engineering Research Prizes

Sinan Keten pic
Sinan Keten, Ph.D., M.ASCE, Associate Professor of Civil & Environmental Engineering, Mechanical Engineering at Northwestern University. 
"For his contributions to the understanding of the mechanical behavior of structural materials, and for establishing novel molecular simulation techniques for characterizing the nanomechanics of polymer nanocomposites."

EMI Leonardo da Vinci Award

Dominik Schillinger headshot
Dominik Schillinger, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE, Assistant Professor, Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo- Engineering at the University of Minnesota. 
"For seminal contributions in computational mechanics, ranging from the application of the finite cell method in iso-geometric analysis, to work on medical imaging and its use in patient-specific simulations, to advances in variational multiscale methods and discontinuous Galerkin methods."