Member Login Menu


  • ASCE's Switzerland group started in 2015 and has just under 70 members. Get more information about ASCE's Switzerland group by contacting an officer below.

    ASCE–Swiss Prize

    In support of innovative research in the domain of Civil Engineering, the ASCE Switzerland International Group has established the ASCE-Swiss Prize in recognition of exceptional Master theses, which combine scientific advances with application areas of practical relevance in the domain of Civil Engineering. This is a Swiss-wide award, awarded annually to a single winner from a pool of candidates across all Swiss Institutions that offer an MSc degree in Civil Engineering.

    We are pleased to announce the award of the 2021 ASCE–Swiss prize to Mr. Gabriel Rodriguez (ETHZ Zürich), for his MSc thesis entitled "Decision Support System for an Intelligent Operator of Utility Tunnel Boring Machines". The thesis was carried out under the supervision of Prof. Dr. Olga Fink  and Dr. Gabriel Michau of the Chair of Intelligent Maintenance Systems at ETH Zürich.

    We wish to particularly thank our cross-institutional review committee:

    • Prof. Alexandre Alahi (EPFL)
    • Dr. Elyas Ghafoori (Empa, member ASCE)
    • Prof. David Kammer (ETH Zürich, member ASCE)

    Previous awardees:

    2020 Mr. Maximilian Kastinger, "Run-up of Impulse Wave Trains", supervised by Prof. Dr. Robert Boes, Dr. Frederic Evers (VAW/DBAUG, ETH Zürich)

    For ASCE-Swiss Prize details, please refer to the past Call for Applications and to Instructions & Conditions

    Switzerland Group Officers:

  • Eleni Chatzi, Ph.D., M.ASCE

    Nikolas Geroliminis, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE
    Vice President

    Dimitrios Lignos, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE

    Daniel Hall, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE