Member Login Menu

Thomas A. Middlebrooks Award

Nomination Deadline: November 1st

The Thomas A. Middlebrooks Award, established by the Society in 1955, is a memorial in recognition of the outstanding professional accomplishments of Thomas A. Middlebrooks, A.M.ASCE. This award is supported by the income from a fund contributed by friends of Mr. Middlebrooks.


  1. The award is made to the author(s) of a paper published by the Society during the twelve-month period ending with June of the year preceding the year of award which shall be judged worthy of special commendation for its merit as a contribution to geotechnical engineering. No award is made in years in which no paper of suitable merit is published. The papers which receive the Norman Medal and the Croes Medal are not eligible for consideration for this award.
  2. The award is not restricted to members of the Society.
  3. The nomination of the recipient of the award is the responsibility of the Governors of the Geo-Institute, which shall recommend to the ASCE Executive Committee for final approval.
  4. The award shall consist of a certificate and cash prize determined annually by and subject to the approval of the Executive Committee of the Board of Direction based on the income from the award endowment. The recipient will be given the option of receiving the award, in part or in whole, in the form of books of his or her own selection. If the winning paper is written by a group, the lead author shall receive the certificate and cash prize. All other authors shall receive only a certificate.

To nominate, submit the following:

You can submit your nomination electronically to [email protected], or by mail to:

ASCE Honors and Awards
1801 Alexander Bell Drive
Reston, VA 20191

Award Recipients

Beena Ajmera, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE; Thomas L. Brandon, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE; and Binod Tiwari, Ph.D., P.E., F.ASCE

Bak Kong Low, Ph.D., P.E., F.ASCE

Waleed El-Sekelly, Ph.D., P.E.; Ricardo Dobry, Sc.D., M.ASCE; Tarek Abdoun, Ph.D., M.ASCE; and Jamison H. Steidl, Ph.D.

Ricardo Dobry, Sc.D., M.ASCE and Tarek Abdoun, Ph.D., M.ASCE

Jean-Louis Briaud, Ph.D., P.E., D.GE, Dist.M.ASCE

All Recipients