Member Login Menu

Raymond C. Reese Research Prize

Nomination Deadline: November 1st

To recognize outstanding contributions to the application of structural engineering research, Raymond C. Reese, Hon.M.ASCE, contributed funds to support a structural engineering research prize. The prize was established by the Board of Direction in April 1970.


  1.  The Raymond C. Reese Research Prize is to be awarded to the author or authors of a paper in a print issue of an ASCE journal in the twelve-month period ending with June of the year preceding the year of the award that describes a notable achievement in research related to structural engineering and which indicates how the research can be used. The paper should include the results of research (experimental and/or analytical) and, in particular, should indicate and recommend how the research can be applied to design; it is this latter feature that is considered to be most important.
  2. Membership in the Society is not a requirement for consideration.
  3. The award may be presented annually.
  4. The eligible papers will be reviewed by the Structural Engineering Institute which shall select the nominee or nominees for final approval by the ASCE Executive Committee.
  5. The lead author shall receive a plaque. All other authors shall receive only a certificate.

You can submit your nomination electronically to [email protected], or by mail to:

ASCE Honors and Awards
1801 Alexander Bell Drive
Reston, VA 20191

Award Recipients

Yan Liu, Ph.D. and Dan M. Frangopol, Sc.D., P.E., Dist.M.ASCE

Tung-Yu Wu, S.E., S.M.ASCE; Sherif El-Tawil, Ph.D., P.E., F.SEI, F.ASCE and Jason McCormick, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE

Trevor D. Hrynyk and Frank M. Vecchio, P.E.

Yongchao Yang, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE; Shunlong Li, Aff.M.ASCE; Satish Nagarajaiah, Ph.D., F.SEI, M.ASCE; Hui Li, Aff.M.ASCE; and Peng Zhou

Ronny Purba, Ph.D. and Michel Bruneau, Ph.D., P.Eng., F.ASCE

All Recipients